How long will it last? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
01-04.5 LB7 Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 08:22 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

How long will it last?

So I'm new to duramaxes, just picked up a 2003 2500HD with 100k on it. My family, cummins and powerstroke people, claim that the duramax isn't going to last. My dad met a guy with 450k on a 7.3l PS with almost no work done to it. Let's hear your opinions, have I made a bad choice going with the dmax?
livealaska907 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-19-2012, 08:29 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)

Nope ur good my brother has a lb7 that he beats on like no tomorrow and its just now having issues at 300k (cp3 pump and tranny) so if u take care of the truck itll take care of u
Old 01-19-2012, 08:33 PM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)

Like everything, if you treat it right then it will last. With your truck it has the lb7 motor which were very prone to injectors going. I have. The same year with 80k on it. I did the injectors at 60k but other than thAt issue my truck drives like a dream. These truck are good trucks. But to each their own. I'm sure some people who are more knowledgable on the subject will chime in. There are many people on the forum that know much about these trucks. Congrats on the purchase and good luck with your new truck!

Sent from my Autoguide iPod touch app

Steven
03 lb7, 95K miles
5k HID lows & fogs
Pacer lt 16x8 wheels wrapped in Cooper Discover At3 265's
5in MBRP Cat-back
S&B intake and Profab Intake Horn
35% Tints all around
soto3389 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message