Ecm reflash question - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
01-04.5 LB7 Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 02:38 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Ecm reflash question

Im looking at a 2001 duramax and the guy had the truck in the dealer and they reflashed his ecm, and he said you cant put a tuner or a chip on it now unless you buy a new ecm. Is this correct? Thanks for any help.
atvracn08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2008, 03:00 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,525
IDK, but reflashing the ECM should not keep you from adding a tuner. All it really does if I am not mistaken is to reset everything back to factory specs. It sounds to me like that Dealer just wants whoever buys the truck, or the owner of it to keep from putting a tuner on it... SOME dealers can be deceptive about anything concerning these trucks if they think you don't know much about the trucks...
bigdaddydiesel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 11:01 PM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)
Oh...... Squirrel!
 
Tow Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irwin PA
Posts: 23,607
Welcome to the forum!

No I have never heard of that. You should be able to buy and tuner you want! I agree with bigdaddy. The dealer probably doesnt want you to add it on
__________________
Jason
2006 Silverado 2500HD LBZ CC SB
Exterior: Escalade Handles, Front windows tinted to match the rear, painted bumpers & mirrors, billet grille, 305/50/20 Cooper Zeons on BMF Novakanes Death Metal, Cognito Braces, Stainless Sleeves, Train Horns
Interior: 4 Kicker 10in Subs in 2 custom box's, Autometer Ultra lite II Pyro and Boost gauges, Aeroforce Interceptor Gauge, HID Lows & Fogs, Painted accents
Performance: EFI Live Tuned by Blackout Performance, Custom Blackout Performance S475 over stock twins, 45 over stock injectors, MBRP Turbo Back Stainless Exhaust (Straight piped), Raptor Lift Pump, AFE Filter, GMAX6 kit with Suncoast 1057 converter installed by Blackout Performance
1999 Ford F-550 PowerStroke ''Wrecker'' **Jerrdan bed, S&B Intake
Tow Master is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 11:32 PM   eBay Motors  #4 (permalink)
VAGITARIAN :)
 
daddysLBZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winking and nodding at your girl...
Posts: 7,317
Talking

If they didn't want us gearheads reflashing them,then GM shoulda hid that damn OBD2 port a lil better..Like it's not tempting right there under the steering wheel,makes you think.....''I could add 100hp right there,in 5 minutes''
__________________
2006 GMC 4x4 CC/SB/sle1/LBZ**312,000 miles!!** PPE HOT+2 225 TUNE beeeyotch:-)AutoMeter egt/boost Suncoast 5 trans w/1056TC!,billet in/out shafts/MagHytec pan!!,M/A built T-Case,4 in.str8piped,5%tint all around......
2007 Chevrolet 4x4 cc\sb,lbz.......SOLD to blunova
Also, I speed and don't come to complete stops at stop signs.


''don't sweat the petty things,pet the sweaty things''
Click below/pictures of my junk!!
http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/vb...do=hall&u=8415
daddysLBZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2008, 12:24 PM   eBay Motors  #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help guys.
atvracn08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2008, 09:46 PM   eBay Motors  #6 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tacoma wa
Posts: 2,426
What gm is doing now is lets say an older programmer is looking for a value of (x). After we reflash the ecm gm is changing that old value of (x) to a value of (y). That is all they will tell us. We have had a few programmers not able to reload after we update the ecm. I have never seen a programmer like an edge that interfaces the factory harness have a problem. Also we can tell if you have different tuning. All we have to do is look in our tech 2 at software id information and it will come up with ********* instead of 12854851.
Toypuller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2009, 05:50 PM   eBay Motors  #7 (permalink)
Yup, it's a dikfir.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 21
I have an LBZ with edge. what are the pros\cons of taking to the dealer and having them install the latest ECM? I'll remove the edge before hand of course. Since the edge doesn't change the ECM, would it be a good idea to have the latest GM has?
__________________
2006 GMC Sierra 2500 LBZ
Edge Juice w/ Attitude & hot unlock
TransGo Jr - Volant air intake
MagnaFlow 5" turbo back exhaust
Diamon Eye downpipe - Kennedy boost stick
Blocker plate & finger stick - Firestone airbags
Viair compressor - Train horn -3 gal air tank
34' Thor ToyHauler
antdolan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2009, 06:14 PM   eBay Motors  #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Super Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by antdolan View Post
I have an LBZ with edge. what are the pros\cons of taking to the dealer and having them install the latest ECM? I'll remove the edge before hand of course. Since the edge doesn't change the ECM, would it be a good idea to have the latest GM has?
I doubt it would make much of a differance.

And also for the original post,,, If they can reflash it,,, so can any good tuner.
__________________
02 GMC 4D 4WD DUALLY (WHITE BUFFALO)
GT4202 and Dual Fueler from PPE w/my moded LBZ CP3s.
Tune by Tony at RIDGE RUNNER & EFI live.
Trans is a Mike L. special with a SC1057.
Heads, Pistons, and balancing by Guy at SoCal.
Carrillo rods.
A1 & ARP studs.
Injects by Kerma.
And some massaging and machining from me. Lots of other little stuff.

Designer of SD products. Constaintly imitated but never duplicated.
Super Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2009, 07:02 PM   eBay Motors  #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sin City
Posts: 4,545
depends on what OS they flash into it. You can either find a tuner that writes to that OS or you would have to script your tune over the new OS they flashed in.
MMLMM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2