Alternator Done - Page 2 - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
01-04.5 LB7 Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2008, 04:53 PM   eBay Motors  #11 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Enthusiast
 
mijdirtyjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beer Tent Capital of the World
Posts: 4,724
Just went and through a 145amp on and we will see if that is enough!! If not then I might think about putting on a second alternator...


Thanks!!!!!!!!
__________________
Jim
__________________________________________________ _
2003 Chevy 2500hd crew cab 4x4, D/A

Just a few aftermarket goodies
mijdirtyjeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2008, 05:24 PM   eBay Motors  #12 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
mromoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Waukesha County, Wi
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddysLBZ View Post
You could get a older style Chrysler alt and just dedicate the charging circuit to the items you want to keep powered..They are easy to set up,and cheap too.
Keep in mind how you gonna drive it though...I saw somewhere on a diesel forum where a guy w/dually had 2 extra alternators[maybe this forum here??,i dont remember]..

IDK his name but his avatar has a white dually with high-rise power lines in the background....
I bet he could help you out with your project..He has listed what he uses these for and I was blown away by the stuff he is able to power with his set up!!!!

I beleave he is at the dieselplace.com
__________________
2004 LB7 Crew Cab 4x4 SLT
Dyno stock numbers 454.3rwTrq and 246.8rwhp boost 22psi EGT 1100
23.2mpg @70mph hwyAmsoil-Air Filter, motor oil, both Diff's, Tranny, Tranfer Case Autometer C2 0-35boost and 0-1600temp gauge Cooper STT Tires 285/75-R16
PPE Standend set on 40hp/160trq and Boost valve Single Flowmaster 4" with a SS 5" tip, two Interstate battery 800 CCA
mromoney is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2008, 10:34 PM   eBay Motors  #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CAN
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddysLBZ View Post
My truck came w the 125 amp one..I found dat out when the VIN check came back!!I'd recommend everyone to have one done..I was amazed when I saw the option list on my truck.
Does anyone on here know how to set up capacitors??I'd like to get more info on that??
That would eliminate the extra batteries and alternators
[I think]
Capacitors just store juice and supply it as needed,but IDK much about them....ANYONE KNOW?????
Capacitors are for short time voltage boosts when u need to start an electric motor or in a sound system. as the voltage fades it releases its enery. For storing power to run someting is not what a cap does. As soon as you short the pins out the capacitor is discharged. hope this helps
reefer man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2008, 11:58 PM   eBay Motors  #14 (permalink)
DIESEL MANIAC!!!
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
KSL667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 1,208
what you should get is one of those whisper quiet diesel gens that run at under 60 dba
__________________
-Kyle

2011 GMC 2500hd LML all stock with XD rims, Level Kit and HID HIGH/LOW beams

Sold - 2008 Chevy K3500HD CC/LB LTZ with LMM Dmax

Sold - 2004 Chevy K2500HD Ext. Cab/LB w/ LLY Dmax
KSL667 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2008, 08:02 PM   eBay Motors  #15 (permalink)
VAGITARIAN :)
 
daddysLBZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN YOUR MOMS ROOM
Posts: 7,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefer man View Post
Capacitors are for short time voltage boosts when u need to start an electric motor or in a sound system. as the voltage fades it releases its enery. For storing power to run someting is not what a cap does. As soon as you short the pins out the capacitor is discharged. hope this helps
That does help,thanks....
__________________
2006 GMC 4x4 CC/SB/sle1/LBZ**312,000 miles!!** PPE HOT+2 225 TUNE beeeyotch:-)AutoMeter egt/boost Suncoast 5 trans w/1056TC!,billet in/out shafts/MagHytec pan!!,M/A built T-Case,4 in.str8piped,5%tint all around......
2007 Chevrolet 4x4 cc\sb,lbz.......SOLD to blunova
Also, I speed and don't come to complete stops at stop signs.


''don't sweat the petty things,pet the sweaty things''
Click below/pictures of my junk!!
http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/vb...do=hall&u=8415
daddysLBZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2008, 08:04 PM   eBay Motors  #16 (permalink)
VAGITARIAN :)
 
daddysLBZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN YOUR MOMS ROOM
Posts: 7,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by mromoney View Post
I beleave he is at the dieselplace.com
Actually he is here !!
His user name is Reidler....
__________________
2006 GMC 4x4 CC/SB/sle1/LBZ**312,000 miles!!** PPE HOT+2 225 TUNE beeeyotch:-)AutoMeter egt/boost Suncoast 5 trans w/1056TC!,billet in/out shafts/MagHytec pan!!,M/A built T-Case,4 in.str8piped,5%tint all around......
2007 Chevrolet 4x4 cc\sb,lbz.......SOLD to blunova
Also, I speed and don't come to complete stops at stop signs.


''don't sweat the petty things,pet the sweaty things''
Click below/pictures of my junk!!
http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/vb...do=hall&u=8415
daddysLBZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2008, 10:25 AM   eBay Motors  #17 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
mromoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Waukesha County, Wi
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddysLBZ View Post
Actually he is here !!
His user name is Reidler....
ok, thanks for clearing it up for me.
__________________
2004 LB7 Crew Cab 4x4 SLT
Dyno stock numbers 454.3rwTrq and 246.8rwhp boost 22psi EGT 1100
23.2mpg @70mph hwyAmsoil-Air Filter, motor oil, both Diff's, Tranny, Tranfer Case Autometer C2 0-35boost and 0-1600temp gauge Cooper STT Tires 285/75-R16
PPE Standend set on 40hp/160trq and Boost valve Single Flowmaster 4" with a SS 5" tip, two Interstate battery 800 CCA
mromoney is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2010, 09:50 PM   eBay Motors  #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ICULKN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SO Cal / New York
Posts: 641
I have a ?, I have a 04 LB7 3500HD Dually, My Alternator has been acting up for the past 2 days, and I now have a project for Saturday (replacing it). I know there are 105 and 145 amp that were installed on the trucks. My Question is, any way to see on the exterior of the Alternator, any ID #'s to tell what unit I have, I never trust the box, or the kids that work behind the counters
ICULKN is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2010, 08:12 AM   eBay Motors  #19 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
The 145a has a phisically larger case than the 105a but they mount the same. The 145a is a plug and play upgrade for the 105a. I just did this to my truck when my 105 died. The problem I had was waking my damn instrument cluster up. I had to start the engine with the alternator unplugged, then plug in the alternator and start it charging after the engine was running for a few moments.
__________________
2004 CCSB LB7. EGR system is MIA. DSP5 is now gone, turbos cost too much.

Last edited by tmoore131; 01-08-2010 at 08:15 AM.
tmoore131 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 08:49 AM   eBay Motors  #20 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijdirtyjeep View Post
Funny thing is I did not realize it was not charging for around 16miles, my blower fan sounded like it was not running as fast and I looked at the message center and it said Battery not charging. I turned around and drove home without any performance issues, can not do that with a gasser, nice not having spark plugs...
They don't have spark plugs, but that computer sure better have power or the truck wont run.
Roger0664 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2