Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

2004 LB7 oil leak---front of pan

26K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  Ron Nielson 
#1 ·
I'm new to the duramax scene(I've owned the truck for about a month) and after a quick search, didn't find an exact answer to my problem. Just walked out from eating lunch and noticed I have a pretty serious oil leak(dripping every second or two) on my 2004 Silverado(LB7). It's a bone stock motor with 263,xxx miles. The drip is coming off of the front of the center of the oil pan(directly under the crank pulley). There is no oil above that. I am parked on somewhat of an incline with the nose down. What are the possibilities of what could be leaking? My guess is the crank seal but is there anything else I can check before I tear the front of the truck apart? I was able to take a pic and catch the drip. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I assume this is a Non-Emission non-Calif vehicle-- no vacuum pump or EGR.

First pull the oil dipstick, smell the oil- does it smell like diesel-?? Is it over full-?? Drop some oil on a paper towel-- the oil will make a spot, and the diesel-[if any] will make a halo around the oil spot. The LB7 engine can dump diesel in the crankcase if an injector is leaking.

Next to the crank balancer is a crankcase vent tube- if the oil is over full, it will blow oil out the tube and show leaks at the front of the oil pan. You need to check further.

Reactions: Earnhardtfan
#3 ·