Fuel Filter Reset - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
04.5-05 LLY Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2006, 04:32 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Fuel Filter Reset

I Have A 2005 2500 Duramax, We Recently Noticed The Change Fuel Filter Display Came On . We Chaged The Filter, But No One Can Tell Us How To Reset It. Also It Is Not Covered In The Ownwers Manual.
Dan Przekop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2006, 09:16 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)
Hi, I'm Earth. Have we met?
 
05_LLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mount Pleasant PA
Posts: 3,163
Good question, but i dont know the answer but i will find out, not all of the trucks have the fuel filter life monitor on them and the ones that do i beleive the came with one of the ecm reflashes!!!

I'll see if i can get you and answer, unless some one else knows here?

Later
Caleb
__________________
Hot rodding duramax trucks since 2004
05_LLY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2006, 09:50 AM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)
LIL Kahuna
Supporting Member
 
Monster truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kingston, WA
Posts: 352
Maybe just the sensor is dirty making the light stay on?
__________________
Dads: 99 2500 Ext Cab Longbed 4X4 3.55s CTD, 5'', 47re, BHAF Outerwear Heat Sheild, Turnbuckle Wastgate, Fuel Pressure, Sucnoast Tripple Disk TC with custom vb work.
Mine: 95 Ext Cab SLT, Loaded, 5spd, 3.54s, Leveled 5'' Lift 35'' Toyos, 4'' Straight, Super B 57/66/14, Stage 2 Sticks, 3GSK, #60 Valve Springs, Stage 2 clutch, Custom Intake, Plateless,Boost and EGT on the pillar.
Monster truck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2006, 01:00 PM   eBay Motors  #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Dirty Sensor

I Am Sure The Sensor Is Good, The Change Fuel Filter Display Came On As It Should To Tell Me To Change The Fuel Filter Just As It Is Suppost To. The Change Oil Display
Also Shows When It Is Time To Change The Engine Oil.
It Can Be Reset By Turning The Key On, And Pressing The
Throttle Pedal 3 Times To The Floor Quickly.That Is Doing Great.But We Still Do Not Know The Steps To Reset The Change Fuel Filter Display. Thanks, Dan.
Dan Przekop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2006, 02:07 PM   eBay Motors  #5 (permalink)
Hi, I'm Earth. Have we met?
 
05_LLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mount Pleasant PA
Posts: 3,163
This is the explanation i got from a buddy but i cant try it as my truck dose not have fuel filter life on it!!!!

FUEL FILTER LIFE RESET
This message will appear when a reset is performed either by using the steering wheel controls or the following manual procedure.

For vehicles with steering wheel controls, press and hold the select button for five seconds while the FUEL FILTER LIFE message is displayed. This message will appear on the DIC for ten seconds.

For vehicles without steering wheel controls, do the following:

Without pressing the pedals, turn the ignition key to the on position without starting the engine.
Wait five seconds.
Completely press the brake and the accelerator pedals simultaneously and hold for ten seconds. The system is now reset.
Turn the ignition key off.
The next time the engine is started, the message will no longer be displayed.

Let me know if it works?

Later
Caleb
__________________
Hot rodding duramax trucks since 2004
05_LLY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2006, 07:47 PM   eBay Motors  #6 (permalink)
LIL Kahuna
Supporting Member
 
Monster truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kingston, WA
Posts: 352
hmm thats an interesting way I wonder how the brakes and throttel are tied to the sensor.
__________________
Dads: 99 2500 Ext Cab Longbed 4X4 3.55s CTD, 5'', 47re, BHAF Outerwear Heat Sheild, Turnbuckle Wastgate, Fuel Pressure, Sucnoast Tripple Disk TC with custom vb work.
Mine: 95 Ext Cab SLT, Loaded, 5spd, 3.54s, Leveled 5'' Lift 35'' Toyos, 4'' Straight, Super B 57/66/14, Stage 2 Sticks, 3GSK, #60 Valve Springs, Stage 2 clutch, Custom Intake, Plateless,Boost and EGT on the pillar.
Monster truck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2006, 12:18 PM   eBay Motors  #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
mschn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monster truck
hmm thats an interesting way I wonder how the brakes and throttel are tied to the sensor.
Boo (brake on off) and TP(throttle position) are both just imputs to the PCM and any other module chevy uses that requires thier imput. When the PCM sees an imput or a combanation of imputs, it has an output, weather it be to add more fuel, or to reset a light. You have to remember when thinking about electronics, its just imputs and outputs....they arent thingking "thats the trottle pedal or brake pedal being depressed".....
mschn99 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2008, 07:57 AM   eBay Motors  #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
I registered on this site yesterday for this very topic.

I tried 05_LLY's recommendation, and it worked. Just note that the "select button" is the "return arrow". On my 05 LLY it is on the right hand side of the steering wheel.

Thanks for the help.

=======================

For vehicles with steering wheel controls, press and hold the select button for five seconds while the FUEL FILTER LIFE message is displayed. This message will appear on the DIC for ten seconds.
rbolski is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2008, 08:56 AM   eBay Motors  #9 (permalink)
Husker Diesel Pimp
 
gr8shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: A little house on the prarie, NE
Posts: 9,702
yes, what mschn99 said is spot on. computers think in binary so all they see is zeros and ones, or in many cases like gauges a varying voltage range. The computers are programmed to recognize certain combinations of inputs, and then have a programmed output for that specific input. For instance that fuel filter replacement message... as long as the readings from the sensor are in the safe range the output is zero (no replacement msg displayed), and when it needs replacement it sends a one to the part of the computer that displays that message, and the message shows up. Thats at least a simplified version anyway, I had to take dumb classes with all that junk, so unfortunatley I know more than I care to about it.
gr8shot is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2008, 04:07 PM   eBay Motors  #10 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
K9Duramax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Central Iowa
Posts: 1,226
Red face

How many others have a filter life display? I have an '05 with the steering wheel controls and I have the oil life, but no fuel filter life? Or does this only come on if it senses that it needs changed? Thanks.
__________________
'05 CC/SB, AMSOIL 15w-40 (From Synthetic Motorsports), Cold Air Intake with a dry Nanofiber filter from AMSOIL, PPE Tuner level 1, EGR blocked, LBZ MP, lost KITTY, finished off the rest with 4" SS Magnaflow, Amsoil Torque Drive, 5K HID's, General Grabbers 265 :rockin

Synthetic Motorsports
K9Duramax is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2