Transmission Problems - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum

04.5-05 LLY Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-10-2007, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
BigRedChevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenville, KY
Posts: 6,008
Transmission Problems

Yesterday when i was driving down the road my transmission locked me out of OD and was stuck in Drive(even when i stopped and took off again it was in drive, did not start in 1)and i did not get a rev limiter. When it happened i was running 80 or 85 but was now accelerating hard or anything like that. My SEL came on and when i checked the codes i had a P0700 and a P1621. Do you all have any idea what might cause this.

KYLE

:rockin2010 Camaro SS LS3 426 HP:rockin
BigRedChevy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-10-2007, 11:51 PM
Administrator
 
ob_1jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 8,468
Send a message via Yahoo to ob_1jr
sounds like you limped your tranny. what power level were you at with your programmer? The stock 5 speed can only take about 85-100 extra hp. Basically the tranny was slipping in 5th gear and went into failsafe mode.

2016 GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali
Extang Blackmax Tonneau
Weathertech floor mats and mud flaps
X-pel clear bra

SOLD 2004 GMC Sierra LB7
ob_1jr is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2007, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
BigRedChevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenville, KY
Posts: 6,008
I was on the 90hp setting. Would it be slipping even though i was not pulling hard. I was running fast but i didn't accelerate hard to get there. I also wasn't towing anything.

KYLE

:rockin2010 Camaro SS LS3 426 HP:rockin
BigRedChevy is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2007, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 855
Yeah that defintely is limpin the tranny. I run my edge on level 4, about 90HP. When I pull my small trailer behind me and try to merge on the freeway it has done the exact same thing before. If it happens again just pull over and shut the truck off and wait a couple minutes then restart it. It will reset it and you should be fine.

John
05' Dmax LLY CC SB, 6in.Fabtech, 20x12 Fuel Krank's, 35in Trail Grapplers and some other stuff
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8
2003 Cummins SC LB
Maverick684 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2007, 11:32 PM
Administrator
 
ob_1jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 8,468
Send a message via Yahoo to ob_1jr
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedChevy View Post
I was on the 90hp setting. Would it be slipping even though i was not pulling hard. I was running fast but i didn't accelerate hard to get there. I also wasn't towing anything.
5th gear is a weak gear and doesn't hold very well. You were probably building boost and all it takes is to go up a small hill and then you slip 5th. Most of the time the truck will limp on the 4-5 or the 5-4 shift.

2016 GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali
Extang Blackmax Tonneau
Weathertech floor mats and mud flaps
X-pel clear bra

SOLD 2004 GMC Sierra LB7
ob_1jr is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 07:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Trenton Mi
Posts: 31
My truck did that the other day. But mine is bone stock and it locked me out of reverse too. I shut it off a couple of times and the MIL shut off and it shifted fine again. But every time I get on in on the free way it does it. My dad's friend who own's the car lot I bought it from has the same truck but an 04 with a tune and he has never had that problem. Any takes?
Dieseldevin88 is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 07:26 PM
DuramaxForum Enthusiast
 
delong_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,950
wow this is an old thread

built motor, big turbos, built trans, etc all by me, parts from Elite Diesel

1016 hp

7.1 1/8 @ 100

11.27 @ 105
delong_1 is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
mysupersportss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 647
Do you guys think a scIV would limp under those coditions or did I miss something?

New project: LMM Crew
Sold: Crew short bed 4x4 LT3 LBZ
Magnaflow 5in TB Exhaust-AFE Stage 2 Resonator Plugged
Painted Door Handles-6000k HIDS-Double Din DVD
Autometer Phantom Gauges
PPE with transgo
Cst 9-11 lift set @ 10" W/bilstein 7100's
37" Toyo MT's on 22" trax8 wheels
Sold: LLY LT Lifted on 37's
Big thanks to Mike @ Dmaxstore
For all you Wheel and Tire needs shop http://www.discounttiredirect.com
mysupersportss is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 07:57 PM
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,530
Ok, old yes, but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieseldevin88 View Post
My truck did that the other day. But mine is bone stock and it locked me out of reverse too. I shut it off a couple of times and the MIL shut off and it shifted fine again. But every time I get on in on the free way it does it. My dad's friend who own's the car lot I bought it from has the same truck but an 04 with a tune and he has never had that problem. Any takes?
I think you may need to take it in for the dealer to reflash the TCM to fix this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysupersportss View Post
Do you guys think a scIV would limp under those coditions or did I miss something?
Yes, I do believe it would.
bigdaddydiesel is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 08:39 PM
SDP
 
Scott@SDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 3,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by mysupersportss View Post
Do you guys think a scIV would limp under those coditions or did I miss something?
I'm thinking this was before he had the SC4 in.

Not with a stock turbo thats for sure. I haven't heard of a limp like this happening at all with a SC 4 though.

Screamin Diesel Performance 360-417-9000 Scott@SDPtwins.com
Compound twin turbo kits with 3" y-bridge and coolant tank for all Duramax's
SDPtwins.com LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

2016 2.8L Duramax Canyon with full exhaust and PPEI DSP4 tuning
2009 LMM SDP trans, SDP GT5541/GTX42 twins, 200% injectors, 2x Exergy CP3's, Socal motor, ATP tuned
2002 LB7 SDP twins, ATP tuned, stock motor 11.97@113mph 7,200lbs
2001 LB7 SDP Built transmission, Single SDP S475, ATP tuning
2006 LBZ Race truck build
Scott@SDP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome