Rpm's at 2k even when coasting in neutral - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
04.5-05 LLY Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2009, 10:54 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Rpm's at 2k even when coasting in neutral

Can some one tell me if it’s normal for my truck to still be at 2k rpm's when I'm on the highway and coasting downhill or coasting in neutral? Why wouldn't the rpm's drop when I shift into neutral. Also when I let off the throttle when cruising at any highway speed, the truck starts slowing down immediately, I'm new to diesel trucks and something doesn’t seem right with that!!! Shouldn’t it “freewheel” when I let off the throttle?
And no I’m not in the tow/haul mode when this happens.
BigBlueGMC is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2009, 12:05 AM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)
Oh...... Squirrel!

Its the wonderfull allison! It may be dumb now but throw 10,000 behind it and start going down a hill. You wont even have to touch the brakes!

As for the 2000 RPM when in neutral. Im not sure about that. What year is your truck?
Exterior: Escalade Handles, Front windows tinted to match the rear, painted bumpers & mirrors, billet grille, 305/50/20 Cooper Zeons on BMF Novakanes Death Metal, Cognito Braces, Stainless Sleeves, Train Horns
Interior: 4 Kicker 10in Subs in 2 custom box's, Autometer Ultra lite II Pyro and Boost gauges, Aeroforce Interceptor Gauge, HID Lows & Fogs, Painted accents