torque app - things to check? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
07.5-2010 LMM Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 05:16 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)
DuramaxForum n00b

torque app - things to check?

Going to look tomorrow at a '08 Duramax pickup again. I am new to diesels 100%, had been doing a lot of reading over at a powerstroke forum, because for no real reason, that's just what I figured I'd end up getting, there seems to be a lot of them in my area, so figured I'd find a better deal on a ford than a chevy or gmc.

I have the torque app and a bluetooth OBD. Is there anything in particular I should try to look for or monitor to determine whether this might be a good truck or might have issues. I know on the fords, you can monitor the oil temp compared to coolant temp, and if more than 15* delta (I think it was 15) then that's a tip off the oil cooler might be having issues, etc.

I drove a 04 F250, a 07 F350, and this 08 GMC 2500 today. The GM had BY FAR more power, rode better, sounded better, motor quieter, just all around seemed more comfortable and powerful.

The one think I notice not working on it was the cruise control. When you turned it on, a amber light came on on the button, but nothing on the dash that I could see, and it didn't work. Any ideas on what it might be, how hard or expensive to fix that problem? Any way to diagnose it using torque and the OBD II reader?

thanks
trmn8r is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2013, 02:57 AM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)

Set it up to read the injector balance rates to see if anything funny is going on there.