Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

DPF issues....

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  Heavy Duty 
#1 ·
I'm new to the duramax world and just bought a LMM with the dpf removed. I knew going to get it that the check engine light was on, and that it had 4" exhaust with the dpf removed already.

Anyway, at first it was fine driving it home, and about 100 miles in, I got "engine power reduced" and it was basically a sled. If I stopped, shut it off and then back on and took off, good to go for a few miles.

Well, I got it to the dealer, they pulled the codes and the three were:

Exhaust temp bank 1
Exhaust temp bank 1 sensor 2
DPF regen

Obviously the dpf isn't there and both sensors aren't either. So it's looking for that signal that isn't there.

I need to run the dpf delete and I want to run a tune. I called a local shop (Merchant) and was told that they could put the efi live with dsb5 on my dash. While that would solve the issue, I was really hoping that I could find a programmer with a display I could mount on the dash that would allow for tunes as well as the dpf delete......

For the LMM, are there any out there? I was told that edge would work, but the full package is like $2K. The EFI with DSB from Merchant is $600...so for a display I'm looking over three times the cost???

I've done a ton of research but can't find anything out there with the dpf delete, multiple tunes and a display to monitor (egt and boost are what I'm really after).

See less See more
#3 ·
so you have a dpf delete without a tuner?

#5 ·
I physically don't have the dpf in the vehicle and/or the temp sensors.... That should explain it better.

Without the dpf, and no time, the truck goes into reduced engine power mode constantly. So I need a tuner with dpf delete. I think I'm going to just have merchant put their deal in and maybe I'll run gauges or something.

#6 ·
Moved to LMM --

#7 ·