2006 LLY DMAX smoking/ knocking - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
911 Problems Forum Truck won't start or drive? Post here!

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 07:33 AM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

2006 LLY DMAX smoking/ knocking

I have a 2006 LLY DMAX, 116K miles, Banks 5" exhaust, Banks air intake. I have no 'chip' and no other programmer or engine mods. I do all my own services on a regular basis- oil/filter, fuel filter, trans fluid/filters, air cleaner and tire rotations. I am a pretty conservative driver and have never seen the need to hammer it just to get to the next red light sooner. So I'm getting on the freeway last night (engine was warmed up, just drove truck 40 miles) and I see white or grey smoke puffing out of the exhaust. I back out of the throttle and it goes away. I ease the throttle back in and it puffs smoke again. I'm in a bad spot to pull over so I just back out if it and kind of coast around a curve. The truck stopped smoking so I drove it another 5 miles to our shop and parked it for a few hours. Driving about 10 miles home I tried to replicate the smoking situation. If I get on the throttle a little and then back out of it the truck surges a little, puffs smoke and now there is a knocking sound from the left (driver) side under the hood. But then it clears up. The engine does idle rougher then before as well. So I drove it to work today (40 miles) and and every once in a while I could hear the knocking sound followed by a puff of smoke. Then it clears up and the truck seems to run fine.

Any one had this problem or have any ideas what it may be? Bad injector? Computer?

Thanks,

Jeff
L.R.S. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-18-2010, 08:26 AM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)

I would say you have a bad injector