Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

How to: Replace rear axle seal.

260K views 93 replies 59 participants last post by  Mickeroon 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Newbie here!! I didn't see this listed any where, so after doing some research on the site, I figured I would docuement the process as I did it tonight. Straight forward and pretty easy. But might help someone out like me that never did one before.

I found my driver side seal was leaking, when I rotated my tires. Had gear oil all over my rotors and lugs. So checked the oil level in the Diff and it wasn't very low, so it must have just started.

Get the parts: Brake cleaner, seal, Blue RTV, Blue thread locker, locknut socket and Diff oil. The oil I picked up already had the limited slip additive in it, one less thing for me to remember.

Jack the truck up and put on stands:

Remove the tire and take out the 8 bolts holding the axle in:

Slide the axle out:

Note the paper gasket on the axle, no auto store near me had it in stock, so thats why I picked up some RTV. This needs to be scraped off the hub and the axle and cleaned.

Next you can remove the Caliper (two 19mm bolts on the back) and then the rotor will just slide off. Unless you have never had it off then you'll need to beat it off..

The inside of the hub:

Grab a screw drive and pop out the snap ring:

Next slide out the square Key:

Then unscrew the Lock nut from the splin with the Lock nut socket:

Now the hub is ready to come off, mine took a little pry-ing, but once it loosened up it came right out.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited by Moderator)
The spindle... usually the seal is in the hub when you take it off, mine stuck to the spindle, so I slid the bearing off and placed back in the hub. Then pry-ed the seal off the spindle.

After getting off the seal, I saw that the auto part store gave me the wrong ones, they are for a 1500 or a non hd truck. So back to the parts store. Here are the correct Napa seal: