Transfer Case replacement - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Drivetrain Discussion on gearing, CV joints, driveshafts, axles, brakes, etc.

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 10:01 AM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Transfer Case replacement

I just found out that my transfer case has a whole in the bottom and It is binding up. Feels like something is getting caught between gears and bottom line is needs replace.

My question is how difficult is it to replace. I am mechanically savvy but have never pulled one of these apart. I would be doing this on the ground on my back. Shop wants 2400 to do the repair. Thoughts? suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2012, 12:08 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)

I did my tcase fix myself, I'm a welder so that helps. it's a magnesium case so welding know how is critical, your cheapest bet would be to remove the tcase, just use a floor jack. open it up, remove housing where hole is, give it to a good welder, be sure to tell him it's magnesium. then inspect the tcase for worn/damaged parts and replace as necessary. when I first detected the hole I removed right away and repaired the hole, cost me about 100bucks in parts, gm has a updated clip for the pump, I wouldn't bother with the aftermarket, pump plate assy's (kennedy diesel, etc.) They are not necessary IMO, the gear guy I deal with says after the tcases get the updated 8 dollar clip, he never see's them again. I will refer you to my gear suplier : Border Parts, 3875 Bancroft Drive Spring Valley, CA 91977 (619) 461-0171 the guy is a whizz. At very least I would remove and open to assess the damage. Good luck.
Old 04-25-2012, 01:21 PM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)
Husker Diesel Pimp

Its not hard to remove the tcase. Its as straight forward as it looks.

Sent from my old skool Droid

04 LB7: It's coming along, slowly