Dsp5 switch not grounded do I need to do a full flash on the ECM - Page 2 - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
EFI Live Place for your EFI questions

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2012, 04:04 PM   eBay Motors  #11 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
StealthBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Choctaw, OK
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmaxkry View Post
Stealthboogie how can I tell if the dsp switch is not working ?? do I just replace it??
I don't know of a way to check if it's working but if the shop messed up installing the ground wire I would double check their work or bring it back to them and tell them they messed up. If I were you though just check it yourself.
__________________
Boogie Man's LMM Build Thread
08' LMM CC SB SLE Z-71 4x4| Tekonsha P3| B&W Turnover| Tow Mirrors| POR 15| EDGE Insight CTS| AMSOIL| Diamond EYE 3" DP/ 4" DE QT Exhaust w/ muffler| PCV Reroute| Batmowheel| EGR Delete| LB7 Uppipe| EFI Live| LED Reverse/Cargo light| RetroSolutions 5k HID's| FX-R 3.0 Retrofit| Billet Valve Plugs| PCV & Resonator Plugs| Bills Custom Intake

Future Mods: 52 gal Titan Tank| FASS 150|Reverse camera| Audio Overhaul|Sound dampening kit| Weather Tech| Denali Grill| LML Denali bumper| LML Manifold| LML Step rails| Hood Vent| EGT Probe| Corsa Muffler| Tie Rods/ Sleeves.....

Last edited by StealthBoogie; 11-25-2012 at 04:11 PM.
StealthBoogie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2012, 04:08 PM   eBay Motors  #12 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
StealthBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Choctaw, OK
Posts: 1,368
On my phone but see if this link works: EFI Live DSP Install Instructions
__________________
Boogie Man's LMM Build Thread
08' LMM CC SB SLE Z-71 4x4| Tekonsha P3| B&W Turnover| Tow Mirrors| POR 15| EDGE Insight CTS| AMSOIL| Diamond EYE 3" DP/ 4" DE QT Exhaust w/ muffler| PCV Reroute| Batmowheel| EGR Delete| LB7 Uppipe| EFI Live| LED Reverse/Cargo light| RetroSolutions 5k HID's| FX-R 3.0 Retrofit| Billet Valve Plugs| PCV & Resonator Plugs| Bills Custom Intake

Future Mods: 52 gal Titan Tank| FASS 150|Reverse camera| Audio Overhaul|Sound dampening kit| Weather Tech| Denali Grill| LML Denali bumper| LML Manifold| LML Step rails| Hood Vent| EGT Probe| Corsa Muffler| Tie Rods/ Sleeves.....
StealthBoogie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 04:15 PM   eBay Motors  #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dmaxkry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Alberta,Canada
Posts: 555
Thanks stealth ill check it out
__________________
Trevor
2009 Dmax lmm
Tuned by Kory
Built trans
Krytonite front end
Twins
Braced
40% overs
Going on a diet and getting dropped
12.571 sec @ 106.53 mph
thanks to Atp, Alligator, D-max Store, and Synthetic Motor Sports
dmaxkry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 05:21 PM   eBay Motors  #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dmaxkry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Alberta,Canada
Posts: 555
So I checked all the wires they are all good . Now I don't know what to do next ... Do a full reflash????
__________________
Trevor
2009 Dmax lmm
Tuned by Kory
Built trans
Krytonite front end
Twins
Braced
40% overs
Going on a diet and getting dropped
12.571 sec @ 106.53 mph
thanks to Atp, Alligator, D-max Store, and Synthetic Motor Sports
dmaxkry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 06:49 PM   eBay Motors  #15 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
StealthBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Choctaw, OK
Posts: 1,368
Sure, it dont hurt to flash it again
__________________
Boogie Man's LMM Build Thread
08' LMM CC SB SLE Z-71 4x4| Tekonsha P3| B&W Turnover| Tow Mirrors| POR 15| EDGE Insight CTS| AMSOIL| Diamond EYE 3" DP/ 4" DE QT Exhaust w/ muffler| PCV Reroute| Batmowheel| EGR Delete| LB7 Uppipe| EFI Live| LED Reverse/Cargo light| RetroSolutions 5k HID's| FX-R 3.0 Retrofit| Billet Valve Plugs| PCV & Resonator Plugs| Bills Custom Intake

Future Mods: 52 gal Titan Tank| FASS 150|Reverse camera| Audio Overhaul|Sound dampening kit| Weather Tech| Denali Grill| LML Denali bumper| LML Manifold| LML Step rails| Hood Vent| EGT Probe| Corsa Muffler| Tie Rods/ Sleeves.....
StealthBoogie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 06:58 PM   eBay Motors  #16 (permalink)
"THEEPASUCKS"
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,144
You can ground the DSP5 switch under the dash.

Here is a diagram for testing the switch voltage.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (45.8 KB, 49 views)
__________________
2008 2500HD LTZ
EFI LIVE DSP5 - Edge CTS Insight - Transgo Jr.
6" Superlift - 35" Pro Comp's - 18"Mazzi Hulks
Amp Research Steps - Billet Grille - PCV Reroute - DE Down Pipe - MBRP SS Exhaust - AFE Delete Pipe
Cognito Braces - Fabtech HD Tierods - PPE Deep Pan
Dmaxstore - Duramaxtuner - Madjacksracing -
MeyerPerformance - Alligatorperformance - Performancetruckproducts

Last edited by WOLFN8TR; 11-25-2012 at 07:46 PM.
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 07:00 PM   eBay Motors  #17 (permalink)
Duramax Forum Supporter
Supporting Member
 
FAIRCHASE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montana
Posts: 211
Are you sure the DSP5 is not working? Meaning you do not feel any difference in 1-5 while driving? Have you tried using a voltage meter on the switch? I am asking because I thought I had the same issue as you but discovered through ADP (who did the install) that the LMM ECM (using the autocal) will show DSP5 and then non-DSP5 for the next 4 levels. Give ADP a call and ask for David.
FAIRCHASE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 07:04 PM   eBay Motors  #18 (permalink)
Duramax Forum Supporter
Supporting Member
 
FAIRCHASE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montana
Posts: 211
A good way to determine if the DSP5 switch is working while you are driving is to set the DSP5 switch to a tow setting and push the tow buttom on the shifter. Go find a hill to drive down and as the engine is braking, move the DSP5 switch to another setting and you should feel less engine braking if the switch is indeed working.
FAIRCHASE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 07:45 PM   eBay Motors  #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dmaxkry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Alberta,Canada
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAIRCHASE View Post
Are you sure the DSP5 is not working? Meaning you do not feel any difference in 1-5 while driving? Have you tried using a voltage meter on the switch? I am asking because I thought I had the same issue as you but discovered through ADP (who did the install) that the LMM ECM (using the autocal) will show DSP5 and then non-DSP5 for the next 4 levels. Give ADP a call and ask for David.
You can defiantly feel the 5stages in the switch itself I have not yet checked the voltages
__________________
Trevor
2009 Dmax lmm
Tuned by Kory
Built trans
Krytonite front end
Twins
Braced
40% overs
Going on a diet and getting dropped
12.571 sec @ 106.53 mph
thanks to Atp, Alligator, D-max Store, and Synthetic Motor Sports
dmaxkry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 07:47 PM   eBay Motors  #20 (permalink)
"THEEPASUCKS"
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,144
PIN install position.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (28.4 KB, 45 views)
__________________
2008 2500HD LTZ
EFI LIVE DSP5 - Edge CTS Insight - Transgo Jr.
6" Superlift - 35" Pro Comp's - 18"Mazzi Hulks
Amp Research Steps - Billet Grille - PCV Reroute - DE Down Pipe - MBRP SS Exhaust - AFE Delete Pipe
Cognito Braces - Fabtech HD Tierods - PPE Deep Pan
Dmaxstore - Duramaxtuner - Madjacksracing -
MeyerPerformance - Alligatorperformance - Performancetruckproducts
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1