Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

DEF gauge false 30%, frozen?

10K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  monkeyman 
#1 ·
Hello all! I am new to Duramax and diesels. I have barely cracked 2,000 miles. I have had false DEF readings twice now after hauling loads in sub zero F temps. The first time it dropped to 29% before resetting after a few days. Happened again yesterday after a low of -18F.
Is this common? Could something be fixed/replaced under warranty fix the issue? I'd be pissed if it limited my speed because of a false reading. What % does it start limiting at? I have no way to garage or warm the vehicle. Any advice/tips much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Just cause it stays at 30% for so long doesnt mean its wrong or the DEF is frozen. If that were the case youd have the DIC display Poor Quality fluid, or Service DEF or Limited Speed.

From the OM.
The DIC will alert the driver when the DEF level is
around 1000-miles remaining range.
Additional messages that must be acknowledged alert
the driver at the 300-mile, LOW and 0-mile fluid ranges
as the DEF tank gradually empties. The fluid level in
the DEF tank must be maintained for the vehicle to
run correctly. If the DEF tank is allowed to run empty,
the system will alert the driver. If fluid is not added at
the next vehicle start, the vehicle speed will be limited
to 55 mph and ultimately to 4 mph in accordance with
federal and state requirements.

& from the OM.
Q. Will DEF freeze?
A. Yes, DEF will freeze—at approximately 12ºF. If DEF is frozen, the vehicle
will start as it always has. After the engine is started, the DEF tank and
lines are electrically heated to ensure adequate DEF delivery in cold
weather. The DEF thaws with no degradation. Remember, since this
system was designed to operate in cold weather, there is no impact on
cold-weather engine operation.

#3 ·