LB7 High Idle Installed! - Page 2 - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 03:38 AM   eBay Motors  #11 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
farmtwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 126
I also got mine wired up over the holiday week, but I used a relay and triggered off of my ebrake wire. Works like a charm.
__________________
2003 GMC 2500HD ECLB ZF6 SBDD, AFE stage 2 pro dry intake, FASS 165, EFI by me.
farmtwin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2013, 05:23 AM   eBay Motors  #12 (permalink)
That One Guy
 
WisconsinHick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 7,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmtwin View Post
I also got mine wired up over the holiday week, but I used a relay and triggered off of my ebrake wire. Works like a charm.
For that setup you just had to have the ECM wire and 12v into the relay and then one wire coming off the ebrake that trips the light on the dash?
__________________
Green Bean Out
The Rag In

Built With Help From Some Great Friends and Sponsor Jags Pro Truck Shop!
WisconsinHick1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 08:09 AM   eBay Motors  #13 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
farmtwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 126
Correct, have you read the high idle how to thread? The autos are as simple as just tapping into a wire on the brake switch, but mine being a manual that wire doesn't do the same thing. I had to find a different way to run it.
__________________
2003 GMC 2500HD ECLB ZF6 SBDD, AFE stage 2 pro dry intake, FASS 165, EFI by me.
farmtwin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 08:40 AM   eBay Motors  #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
KyBowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florence ky
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseldave01 View Post
Southwest Ohio, pretty cold winters at times, so it would be handy. do you buy the switch from anywhere special, or just an autozone one do the trick?
I'm right on the other side of the river! Looking to do this soon also


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
__________________
Logan Faehr
07 LMM LTZ|ATP|ADII|5" mbrp|3" downpipe|PCV reroute|S&B intake|All season brace|MA sleeves|Recon|Cognito keys|Bilsteins|20x12s|Toyo MTs| Big Dipper tranny soon to come
KyBowtie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 09:07 AM   eBay Motors  #15 (permalink)
That One Guy
 
WisconsinHick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 7,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmtwin View Post
Correct, have you read the high idle how to thread? The autos are as simple as just tapping into a wire on the brake switch, but mine being a manual that wire doesn't do the same thing. I had to find a different way to run it.
I have not read the writeup. I like the idea of going off the ebrake I might have to buy a relay tonight. For my 12v source I just went off of my elocker power since they wont be on at the same time.
__________________
Green Bean Out
The Rag In

Built With Help From Some Great Friends and Sponsor Jags Pro Truck Shop!
WisconsinHick1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 09:13 AM   eBay Motors  #16 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Enthusiast
 
SparkZ03DMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 4,007
I didnt even need a toggle switch....
OLD VIDEO
__________________
2001 Chevrolet LB7 Duramax
EFI Live w/ Dsp5
and other goodies


www.trollperformance.com

Youtube Channel- http://www.youtube.com/user/SparkZ1420

BLOWN HEAD GASKET. Makes me want to punch a baby...
SparkZ03DMAX is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 09:17 AM   eBay Motors  #17 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 45
My son and I did his and mine. I purchased a led switch from Radio Shack and installed it in the dash down next to the steering column. Keep it to one side incase you want to add another switch. Good luck.
Injector is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 10:04 AM   eBay Motors  #18 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
Bear9350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,253
Its been a while but I thought I wired mine into a switch in the brake. I thought all I did was run that one wire from the ecm through the firewall and spliced it in at the brake. I can turn it on when in park. As soon as I touch the brake pedal it turns off. I thing the wire is for some signal so it only has power when in park so the high idle can't be turned on when in gear. No extra relays or wires needed for this setup. Again iirc this won't work for manual trannys.
__________________
2003 Chevy 2500 LB7, Crew Cab
Bear Claw Front and Rear Bumpers
EFI Live DSP5 from ATP/Rob, port and polished stock IHI turbo w/ Batmo Wheel, 3" Down Pipe, 4" straight pipe from the downpipe, intake horn mod, modded air box, custom overhead gauge console, pyro and boost gauges
Cognito UCA, Kyrptonite Straight Centerlink and Tierods, BFG KM2 255-85 on stock wheels

Truck Pictures
Bumper Build
www.performancetruckproducts.com
Bear9350 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 10:41 AM   eBay Motors  #19 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 45
I'll need to try to see if the high speed idle switch works while in gear. Very good point. I believe we also went to the break switch so when you go to shift it into gear you push on the break pedal and that disables the high rev program.
Injector is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 10:46 AM   eBay Motors  #20 (permalink)
DuramaxForum Veteran
 
Bear9350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injector View Post
I'll need to try to see if the high speed idle switch works while in gear. Very good point. I believe we also went to the break switch so when you go to shift it into gear you push on the break pedal and that disables the high rev program.
If the high idle is just switched from a power source it is possible for the high idle to be activated while in gear. Of this occurs the engine will run poorly at higher rpms I believe.
__________________
2003 Chevy 2500 LB7, Crew Cab
Bear Claw Front and Rear Bumpers
EFI Live DSP5 from ATP/Rob, port and polished stock IHI turbo w/ Batmo Wheel, 3" Down Pipe, 4" straight pipe from the downpipe, intake horn mod, modded air box, custom overhead gauge console, pyro and boost gauges
Cognito UCA, Kyrptonite Straight Centerlink and Tierods, BFG KM2 255-85 on stock wheels

Truck Pictures
Bumper Build
www.performancetruckproducts.com
Bear9350 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2