Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

What did you do to your Home/Property today?

837K views 10K replies 318 participants last post by  22DMaxJD 
#1 ·
Hey everyone,

following the same format as crazycrew's thread titled "what did you do to your Sierra/Silvy today", i thought it would be cool to have one for your residence, shop, garage, land, etc etc etc

:neener

#5,810 ·
Found out I'm not watering the Melons enough for this heat. Found the two biggest ones start the shrivel/cast off thing by the plant...in just one day.

Heart dropped sad.

#5,811 · (Edited)
Need some guidance from y'all cuz I'm a noob at this.

So I'm currently having clay (then black dirt/top soil) hauled in around the house so I can start establishing a yard. The sand is currently graded pretty well around the entire house, so I plan to spread the clay out over the existing grading for the most part. Once I get the clay down, I'm going to drag the whole thing to hopefully smooth it out and level the bumps. Then I'm gonna do a ~2" lift of black dirt and do the same thing with grading and dragging it.

We currently have weeds, prairie grass, and who knows what else growing in the sand. My question, is it better to spray the shit currently growing with a herbicide or it is okay to just spread the clay right over the plants?

Also, is spreading the clay with black dirt/top soil over the top the right approach to get a nice lush yard eventually? We're also having a sprinkler system installed if that info helps.

#5,812 · (Edited)
From an Organic viewpoint, don't poison the land. Weeds and other undesirables are Natures way of trying to protect the soil from erosion. They thrive in poor soil conditions. 'Top Soil' labeled....same thing. Poor soil full of unwanted seeds.

Improve the soil and the weeds will give up.