How to : High idle on '01 and '02 LB7 - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
How To's, DIY and Write ups DuramaxForum How To's, Do it Yourself Guides, and other write ups. Only How TO post belong in this forum!!! If your NOT showing/telling us HOW TO then DO NOT post it here.

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 02:41 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)
Duramax Forum Supporter
Supporting Member

How to : High idle on '01 and '02 LB7

This is my first attempt at a DIY write up so bear with me.

There is a good write up on this on Kennedy Diesel's page (Kennedy Diesel) that involves running the PTO enable to a toggle switch, another method is to run the wire from the ECM in to the brake switch at hook it up to the green and white wire on the brake switch. My write up does the same thing as running the wire to the brake switch because it ties into the same circuit, but you only have to run the wire from the ECM to the underhood fuse block.

The high idle is achieved through a PTO enable circuit inside the ECM. When hooked to a 12v source, the high idle can be controlled from the cruise control switch. Turning the switch to "standby" will bump the idle to 850rpm. Pushing the "set" button will take the idle to 1250rpm, and hitting the "resume" function will take the idle to 1700rpm. I hooked my PTO enable to the "A/T Shift Lock Control Switch Supply Voltage" circuit that runs from the B/U lamp fuse in the underhood fuseblock to the stop lamp switch. Hooking the PTO enable to this circuit works for the high idle because it takes away the 12v source when the brake pedal is applied and the truck is in gear.

You will need :
- About 3 feet of 20 - 22 gauge wire
- LB7 ECM terminal part # 12084912 (can get them at dealership parts department)
- Terminal crimpers
- 10mm socket
- 7mm socket
- Various sized hook tools and flathead screwdrivers