New to site and new to duramax - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Introductions Introduce yourself here

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Duramax Lifetime Supporter

New to site and new to duramax

Hey DF,

I recently purchased a White CCLB 04.5 Chevy 3500 which i've nicknamed "Gringomax." My third diesel vehicle; first being a 6.0 PSD and the second being a Jetta Sportwagen that was just sold back to VW. I bought this truck not knowing it needed a few things. So here I go, jumping in to head gaskets, water pump, wheel bearings, and maybe a transmission along the way. Bought the rig to pull my 20' Thunderjet and a travel trailer that I haven't bought yet, since my 2015 Grand Cherokee gets exhausted quick. I'm a maintenance technician for a semi conductor on production equipment, have served 11 years in the Air Force, and love to wrench. Currently living in Vancouver, WA but in the process of purchasing land to build a house on, near Kelso, WA.

Truck: EFI live, no EGR, 4" turbo back to side exit in front of rear wheel, 35/12.5/18 on 18x9 -12/et wheels, RCD lift, bilstein 5100, intake, inlet, hard intercooler pipes, and an anti-protestor bumper. In the next few days I plan to pull it apart for heads/head gaskets, water pump, t-stats, and maybe a couple things along the way.

So far purchased: Head gaskets, studs, water pump, t-stats, filter head rebuild kit, cat filter adapter, tools (injector removal, flywheel holder, fan spanner), rock slider look side steps, new tires, alignment, stepper motors for gauges, lots of coolant, and plan to do a remote start/alarm when things calm down with head/gasket problems.

I look forward to utilizing the site for some reference and to contribute as much as I can.

Eric
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 07:19 PM

welcome

2015 GMC Denali 2500HD 4x4