Fuel Injector Leak?? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Maintenance Discuss scheduled maintenace, capacities, filter part numbers, etc.

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 01:09 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Fuel Injector Leak??

I am new to the duramax world, so I was hoping I could obtain answers/assistance from all of you. I have a 2005 2500HD Duramax 6.6 and was pulling my 2005 Sandpiper toyhauler a week ago to PA for a family camping trip. My truck was running well and my gauges never moved to indicate a problem nor did my check engine light come on. It wasn't until a tow truck pulled up next me and the driver told me he smelt diesel fuel from my truck. I pulled over and could immediately smell fuel. I looked under my truck and noticed fuel was dripping from all over the place so I could identify where it was leaking from. I took it to a dealer who told me a screw beneath my fuel filter was loose, so it was tightened with no charge. I didn't notice any other problems after that. It was until i was driving back to northern VA (2.5 hours away but took me about 4 with driving very slow) when I started to smell fuel again and noticed white smoke from exhaust. when I got home, I took off the inner wheel well cover to see if i could see where the fuel was leaking from. My fuel filter was dry; however, i noticed that fuel appeared to be leaking from a fuel injector behind my fuel filter (unk what # fuel injector). I want to replace fuel injector myself, but I have never done this before.

I contacted a chevy dealer to see if my injectors fell under the "special program" of GM replacing the injectors with my warranty already being expired since its a 2005 with about 75,000 miles. I was told it did not and that this program was only for 2001-2004 duramax's.