WATER IN FUEL prompt on dash display after changing sensor and filter - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Maintenance Discuss scheduled maintenace, capacities, filter part numbers, etc.

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 02:50 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

WATER IN FUEL prompt on dash display after changing sensor and filter

Hi folks:

NEWBIE here to the site. Hope someone can help! I just changed my fuel filter on my 07 2500 HD and had to change the water in fuel sensor as a wire broke when removing the unit from the filter. Went to a local auto parts store as it was late in the day and got a Dorman aftermarket to replace. Changed everything out; primed the new filter and started. No problem until the WATER IN FUEL display popped up. Checked connection, seems to be good, plugged in OBD scanner to check for any problems--NONE. Engine runs fine.

Anyone else experience this? How do you clear or do I have to go to GM and get the OEM part?

Thanks!

Tom
pennsdalerepair is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2013, 04:53 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)

Does the light go out when you unplug the sensor? If so...Leave it unplugged, They dont work as designed anyway. Drain the water off the filter at every fill-up.

1985 Chevy C20 Suburban with a '04 5.3L/4L60E
K&N intake tube w/ stock box, Built trans, Michelin A/S.
clinebarger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2013, 04:14 PM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)