Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

Dropping a 6 inch Lift to 4 Inches

81K views 40 replies 17 participants last post by  Creynolds1986 
#1 ·
I've been reading through a ton of Lift threads and I keep seeing references to people buying 6 inch lifts, but setting them up to only be 4 or 4.5 inches.

I'm totally new to this. Could someone explain how you do this and if it requires buying additional parts (different blocks for the rear, I'm guessing?).

Also, what lifts can you do this to? I've seen references to Cognito and Zone. Any others?

Thanks!

#3 · (Edited)
Pretty well every lift manufacturer will list a lift height of their kit. The catch here is how much longer is the lift companies knuckle compared to the OEM knuckle.
For example, some companies will offer a 6" lift and use a 6" longer knuckle. In the case of this lift you cannot go any lower than 6" because of the 6" longer knuckle, however you may be able to go higher by cranking your T-bars.
Another example would be Cognito's 4-6" lift. Now this kit uses a 4" longer knuckle and to get the truck up closer to 6" you have to crank the T-bars. The lowest you can go with this kit is 4".
Rule of thumb, The minimum height any lift will go down is based on how much longer that kit's knuckle is over the OEM knuckle.
The best thing to do is if you find a lift you like, no matter what amount of lift is advertised, find out from the lift manufacturer how much longer their lift kit knuckles are over stock and that measurement will give you the minimum height your truck can be set at safely.(CV's level)
Most lift kits will usually have a shorter knuckle length than the advertised lift, which is why a lot of guys can drop their 6" or whatever lift lower than the advertised height. Also, the Sub frame brackets are extended the same length as the knuckles.

Reactions: allz28
#4 ·