Do I need my CDL??? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 09:33 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Do I need my CDL???

I have looked up on the ca dmv website, and i couldnt find where it said anything about needing a CDL for receiving compensation even if you are under 10,001 lbs. I will be pulling a 24" gooseneck enclosed car trailer, it weighs roughly 2800 lbs, and has 10k lb gvwr. I plan on using a dually to pull it with, and there will not be any form of advertising on the truck or trailer. I work in the tv/film industry, specifically manufacturer automotive commercials/media, so when there are commercials, i will be using my equipment and during downtime i will be basically hotshotting high end vehicles around, shuffling them and whatever other clientelle i can muster up through connections. I also have someone who is willing to put me under their insurance, it is a logistics company for a very high end car co. For the last 10 yrs i have pulled 1 car enclosed trailers all over the western portion of the united states and have never had a problem, knock on wood, especially the fact that im using a pickup truck, which is illegal to pull into truck scales... i dont see a real problem other than wanting to be correct rolling down the road. On the ca dmv cdl handbook, the very first section states: "who needs a cdl" and nowhere in that section does it state anything pertaining to needing one for compensation if under 10k lbs, i am going to the dmv just to confirm tomorrow, but i wanted to see what you all had to say to that. I also will be forming an s-corp if i can i plan to build and sell classic restomods as well. thx for reading. any and all input is much appreciated thx brettler
calikid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement