Using the "M" on the Allison Transmission - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 01:36 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Using the "M" on the Allison Transmission

Ok, I am new to the diesel truck and the Allison Transmission. I see that the M is used when pulling a trailer. My question is When is the most appropriate time to use this feature. I will be going to Colorado in June and will be crossing over Cinnamon Pass that drops into Lake City. I have been told by most folks that once you go down this pass you will not want to go down it again. I am thinking that this is purpose for this feature. I can use all the help I can get concerning towing my 5th wheel through the mountains and how this feature can help.

Thanks

2007 Duramax LB with Old body style
No modifications at this time
Roughly 20,000 miles
Duramaxcop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-18-2008, 01:39 PM   eBay Motors  #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Lifetime Supporting Member

Most of the time Tow/Haul mode will do everything that you want it to do with the grade braking feature. If you wanting to put it in M mode to hold a gear longer then it wouldn't hurt a thing. The allison is a very smart tranny and will take care of itself, if you put it in M4 it won't let it over rev it will shift to 5 before it hurts anything, so i would say put it in tow/haul and take it easy at the top.

Welcome to the site!!!

:rockin2010 Camaro SS LS3 426 HP:rockin
BigRedChevy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2008, 07:12 AM   eBay Motors  #3 (permalink)

M - is for manual

I tow a 5 th , and personally I dont find too many times that I need the manual control or the tow-haul mode .