Allison shift problem cured thanks all - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Transmission Shop Discuss the Allison OEM, aftermarket, and the ZF-6.

DuramaxForum.com is the premier Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2009, 01:25 PM   eBay Motors  #1 (permalink)

Allison shift problem cured thanks all

Hi All, Newbie here. I was able to troubleshoot my 02' 2500HD Dmax LB7 5spd auto, approx. mileage 150,000K/90,000Miles .Thanks to all of the awesome articles posted - big thanks. The symptoms were as follows: over the last week the shift display wasn't showing that I was in Drive. I could shift into 3 and it would light up over the 3 but when shifting back to D, it remained unlit. The problem then amplified while plowing snow, I shifted from fwd to rev and there was a delay, then big clunk. It did this a couple times then went away. The lack of indication problem occurred through the week culminating with blocking traffic in two directions trying to back into my driveway. I shifted her into reverse and she clunked again then nothing. tried to shift from drive to reverse, didn't matter what gear I chose, it wasn't moving. The check engine light came on this time as well. Worse yet, I had to pull it into the driveway with the wife's Ford! I had thought the worst, the transmission was pooched! Thats when I googled the problem and these forums came up. It took only a few minutes and I saw a similar problem had occurred and the NSBU (Neutral Safety Backup) switch was the culprit. With a little more googling I found some pictures and the actual part number (29540479) heres the link: (If it doesnt work just google NBSU switch.)Allison 1000 Series NSBU Switch pictures from cars photos on webshots