Health Check on fuel system - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
01-04.5 LB7 Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By DIRTEEMAX

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2019, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
DuramaxForum n00b

Health Check on fuel system

Okay folks so I’m still learning daily on my LB7 so please forgive me if I don’t use all correct terminology! Recently I noticed that on light acceleration if the truck is making under 5psi I can hear a faint clatter / knock and also does it if I go WOT and let off (for literally 1 second) I immediately assumed I had an injector letting go although I have no haze at all and the truck runs really strong/well. So I checked balance rates and from what I can tell everything seems to be perfect but I would love to get a second opinion. After checking I’m wondering if what I’m hearing is possibly valve lash out of adjustment? The truck has roughly 300k on it and I know the injectors we’re done at a dealer @ 220k prior to me purchasing it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8078D274-AE24-4B2D-99A4-9A201CD861E4_1569947282442.jpg (28.4 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg D6F5B27D-8566-4F29-8BD3-781F7A49AF1A_1569947296316.jpg (28.7 KB, 45 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2019, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
DuramaxForum n00b

I didn’t realize the pictures would become so distorted so I will list the values here.

Main Inj. timing = -3.0
Inj 1 Command = .31ms
Inj 2 Command = .32ms
Inj 3 Command = .40ms
Inj 4 Command = .43ms
Inj 5 Command = .35ms
Inj 6 Command = .38ms
Inj 7 Command = .29ms
Inj 8 Command = .29ms

Balance Rates

Inj 1 = -1.3
Inj 2 = -1.0
Inj 3 = 1.5
Inj 4 = 3.0
Inj 5 = 0.4
Inj 6 = 1.4
Inj 7 = -2.0
Inj 8 = -2.0
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2019, 10:42 AM
Duramax Lifetime Supporter