LLY Headgasket Time? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
04.5-05 LLY Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

3Likes
  • 2 Post By AlisoBob
  • 1 Post By BlownL36

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 08:11 PM Thread Starter
DuramaxForum Enthusiast

LLY Headgasket Time?

NOPE!!! I've been losing coolant in the LLY for about 2 months now. S-l-o-w-l-y leaks out and needs a top off every so often. I'm thinking headgaskets for sure with 300k miles, 220k of those with a 100hp tune. Never any drips, never any smell, never any dried coolant spots. Hmmmmmmmmm.......

So I have a few spare hours today, and decide to get after it. I break out the ol' $25 eBay pressure tester, find the right adapter, hook her up and giver her a few pumps..... nothing at 20psi which is where the gauge redlines.

So I pump it up to 25 psi and a few tiny drops drip right down off the heater core connectors and onto the tranny dipstick tube, then run down the tube on to the hot Allison 1000 where they flash off, due to the hot tranny case. That's why there were no drops on the ground!!

I then touch the thing under pressure, because what mechanic can resist grabbing something and giving it a good shake?

BLAMMO!! thing pops off and sprays coolant everywhere!!

$7 later , I'm back in action. ( Actually, $14 later because I did both of the connectors. Nothing is too good for my baby.....)

https://www.autozone.com/cooling-hea...15722_253575_0

Now , these are all set for another 300k miles, and my headgaskets live to see another day. I took a quick spin down to San Diego and back.... and all is good.

If you dont have one of these radiator pumper-upper-er's.... you need to gert one. They are lifesavers.....
ALLY Cat and mray like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 08:46 PM