Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

O-ring Under Thermostat Housing

20K views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  jsh101 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
I put a new water pump in the LLY (first timer, and Im no pro), everything went pretty well untill I filled it back up and water started running out of the bottom of the thermostat housing where the pipe down to the water pump goes in. Looks like I must have damaged that o-ring, which I guess isn't a big supprise cause it was a pain to get that pipe back in there. I started to pull it back apart, and I'm having trouble with that. I can't get the wiring harness that goes through the fan pulley block back out to even pull that off. So I guess a few questions:

Does the fan pully need to come off to get that pipe off and back on? Looks like some people say yes and some say no, maybe depends on the year? I attched a picture of the (SOB) pipe in question, did not all years have that 3/8" hose that comes off of it that you get to fight at the same time as trying to get the o-ring to seat? I put a new 3/8" transmission oil hose on there which is pretty stiff, in hind sight that probably didn't help my efforts, but it's what I had.

If the pulley has to come off, how do I get the wiring harness that goes through it disconnected? Looks like different years used different connectors? I thought I got it last night by prying the tab from behind with a paint can opener but now I can't get it to disconnect. I attached a couple pictures of the harness, hopefully that helps.

Can I remove the pipe and replace the o-ring with the water pump installed, or do I need to pull the pump, replace the o-ring, put the pipe back in and then re-install the pump? Would that sequence be better?