Help smoking after down grade - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
11-16 LML Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 12:52 PM Thread Starter

Help smoking after down grade

I have a 2011 LML 134000 miles it has a PPEI 5stage tuner and is deleted. The truck has been great until I too it to our cabin. Coming home there is a few steep down grades and both time when I got to the bottom the truck started stumbling and puffing white smoke it took about 5 min running it to get it to clear out. I had to step on the throttle and raise the rpms up to 2500 before it cleared. I’m new to diesels so any advice would be great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 03:11 AM

White smoke is coolant. Check your coolant level and also take the truck for a 15 minute hard run and see if the upper radiator hose is rock hard. If so it is head gasket time.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 04:59 AM
DuramaxForum Fanatic

When checking the upper rad hose you want to get it up to temp be hard on it then let it sit for at least 5+ hours. If it's hard after that your keeping pressure in the system and 98% of the time headgaskets . If you take the degas cap off it shouldnt have any pressure left in it either. Can try replacing it before headgaskets as its 12 dollars compared to 1k to 4500

My name is Nic
2012 qcsb 6.8L cummins, Big single, Big fuel, 48re swapped,
2011 GMC Sierra 2500 CCSB LML,
BIG s400, fuel, supporting mods
THANKS TO, SDP, WCFAB, LDS, DHD, FREEDOM RACING ENGINES, GDP, EXERGY, S&S, ATS, FLEECE, DEALER FOR UNLEASHED TUNING.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 12:49 PM Thread Starter

I will check that tonight. I hope it’s not a head gasket!