DPF regen needed WHILE CAPTURED? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
2017-19 GM T-K2 Platform Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 10:22 AM Thread Starter

DPF regen needed WHILE CAPTURED?

Newbie here - 6 weeks into a '19 2500 that will be towing an 8K trailer. Just trying to be prepared.

So let's say you are towing your trailer down the interstate, go around a curve, and traffic is at a dead stop as far as you can see. No exits in sight and as we all know these waits are rarely short.

Just as you roll to a stop, you get the message "Continue Driving to complete regen" or whatever it says. I've read that it might disable the truck if you shut it off at this point, and you can't continue driving for a good while.

Do you shut it off, do you put it in neutral and rev up to 2000 rpm's until it's finished? How do you handle that situation??

2019 Silverado 2500 4WD, Cajun Red
Michelin LTX M/S, bed liner, Alum bed box
Boost mirror turn signal jumper
Trans cooler grill
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 11:29 AM

Garage
If you are in an active regen while driving, it will remain in regen at idle or continue where it left off if you shut it down until all soot is burned off in the DPF. While towing, you are also generating elevated exhaust temperatures which aids in burning off this soot.

In the three years that I've had my truck, I've never seen the "continue driving" message ever come on.