Best brand of diesel - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
2017+ L5P Duramax Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission, Etc.

16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
DuramaxForum n00b

Question Best brand of diesel

Do any of you guys favor one brand of diesel over other brands ?
And if you do, why?

2018 GMC 2500HD LTZ Duramax 6.6 L
Z-71 package 4 X 4 with 20" 265 X 60R tires
Crew Cab with 6.5' box
Manufactured 5-2018
Bought 12-17-2018
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 08:10 PM

I personally believe that brand is less important than getting your fuel at a reputable station that moves a lot of diesel. I have been doing this for nearly 10 years now and have not had a single fuel related problem.
J83, Deathpiggy, 407driver and 3 others like this.

2016 GMC Denali 3500HD SRW CCSB LML
Stock Powertrain | Morimito XB Fogs | WeatherTech Mats
2011 GMC Sierra 2500HD CCSB LML - SOLD
ECM/TCM tuned by Kory Willis @PPEI | Fass 150 Titanium w/ sump | 5" Flo-Pro w/ FTE Resonator
Edge Insight CS w/ pyro | Bilstein 5100's | Goodyear DuraTrac 285/60R20 | WeatherTech Mats
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 08:18 PM
Duramax Lifetime Supporter

Garage
I prefer Costco diesel, best price and they carry only Top Tier diesel, but I am lucky having a rare Costco with diesel fuel location only a mile from my house.

Below is a cetane rating for branded diesel fuels that I found on the internet last year ... can’t vouch for its accuracy or how old it is ... may not even be relevant anymore.

I do however try to use Chevron or Conoco when out of town just in case this comparison is accurate.

BP (Amoco branded), 51
Chevron, 49 (51 with Techron D)
ConocoPhillips, 48 (California 48-53)
PetroCanada, 47-51
Shell, 46;
Sinclair, 46
Marathon 45
Exxon/Mobile, 43-46