Installing Tow Mirrors - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
2017+ L5P Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the '17 and up L5P Duramax Trucks No Advertising

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 03:54 AM Thread Starter

Installing Tow Mirrors

All,

I didnt have any luck searching this out, so if there are threads on it, please point me in the right direction.

Im looking to replace the small stock mirrors with the OEM optional tow mirror on my 19'. I originally wanted to have the dealer do this for me when i bought the truck, however, they said the OEM mirros are over $1,000 to buy, and another $1200 to install - this seems incredibly high to me.

So, id like to see if any of you have done this, and how much of a PIA this is, also if anyone has a good connection to buy the OEM mirrors from that would be appreciated as well, i dont want aftermarket in this case. I was a race mechanic back in the day, so im not afraid to do this myself its just the dealer making this sound like its some huge project - how bad can it be, its only mirrors?

Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 08:20 AM
DuramaxForum n00b

not exactly what youre asking...but i just put new style mirrors on a friends 05 duramax...they are all the same. remove the door panel and theres 3 nuts you have to remove off the studs coming through the door. once you remove them the mirror will come out. wiring and connectors should will all the same if you currently have signal mirrors.

2006 duramax- stock
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 08:27 AM
DuramaxForum n00b

dont know how to edit or delete my post. just noticed you have a '19 probably different... ignore me! haha

2006 duramax- stock
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 12:24 PM
DuramaxForum n00b

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty5P View Post
All,