EFI Live: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST!!!! - Page 29 - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
EFI Live Place for your EFI questions

 21Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #281 of 295 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 06:20 PM
 
Chuck_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Chesapeake, Va.
Posts: 9
Garage
I did not know that. Thanks

2003 GMC Sierra LB7 CCSB 4x4
S&B Air Dog II 4G 165
Beans Sump
SAC 45%(Thanks Brent)
PPE Boost Increase
Turbo Horn
Straight Piped
For now...........
Chuck_D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #282 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 06:25 PM
 
Bruce22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8
Garage
A little lost

Ok guys so Iím new to the diesel world. I bought my 04 lly in august last year. It came with what I believe is the dsp5 or something of the sort but the dealership couldnít tell me anything about the tunes. Since then Iíve had the egr deleted. Now I know the number 2 tune is a lope tune just from how it runs with it on 2 but is there anyway to actually know what tunes I have without going to someone? Not sure if the egr delete effected anything as well since the tuner was on there before the delete. Please correct if I need to ask on a different page.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (65.2 KB, 50 views)

2004.5 LLY Silverado 2500HD 4x4
4Ē RCX lift
18Ē mayhem wheels
35x12.50x18 kendaís
deleted and tuned
Ranch Hand and step bars
Mystery Tuner
Bruce22 is offline  
post #283 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 09:22 PM
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
D_R_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rocky Top, USA
Posts: 7,196
I know this is not what you want to hear, the only people that would know what tunes you have is the actual tuner and owner of the truck when they bought the tunes.
You should be able to check for codes with the EGR deleted.
From whatís been said itís possible to set a soft code without a check engine light, Iím not sure what year.
You can go thru the numbers 1-5 to see if you notice changes switching, but thatís about all you can do.

Dan
2007.5 GMC Sierra 3500 SRW L.B."BLACK" C.C. 4X4 LMM Z71
DIY stock airbox mod, aFe ProGuard 7, OEM drop-in
EFILive ECM ATP - Heavy Tow Tune with Turbo Brake.
EFILive TCM Duramax Tuner
DHD Cold Side High Flow Intake Pipe, DHD PCV Re-Route, AirDog 4G100
Castrol Hypuron/Vecton 15W40 synthetic blend oil
Donaldson P550832 2 qt oil filter

2007 Yukon Denail "BLACK" 6.2 gasser
DIY stock AirBox Mod, K&N, Airaid intake, EFILive TCM only tuning
D_R_C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #284 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 09:38 PM
 
Bruce22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8
Garage
Ok so correct me if Iím wrong, A tuner should/would be able to retune the truck as long as I pay for said tunes and/ or efi live unless itís a canned tuner?

2004.5 LLY Silverado 2500HD 4x4
4Ē RCX lift
18Ē mayhem wheels
35x12.50x18 kendaís
deleted and tuned
Ranch Hand and step bars
Mystery Tuner
Bruce22 is offline  
post #285 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 09:49 PM
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
 
Hook'em_Horns!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Awww-stin, TX
Posts: 25,967
Send a message via Yahoo to Hook'em_Horns! Send a message via Skype™ to Hook'em_Horns!
Correct. If you have the device (autocal, V2) to do so.

Generally accepted principle is, quality tuners didn't/wouldn't do lope tunes.
If you've got a lope on 2, it's probably all crap, IMO.
1TRIKHD and Bruce22 like this.

2007 LBZ 3500 LT3 DRW Crew Cab, Sulastics, Putnam XDR 15K, B&W 30K-Turnover GN+Companion, Ride-Rite Air...EFI'd by Rob
2008 LMM 3500WT DRW Crew Cab, 8 'Flat/GN, Workforce Alum Toolbox, Ride-Rite Air

Use-ta Haves 2006-6.0 3500 WT DRW ExCab Flatbed, 2005-LLY 3500 LS DRW Crew Cab, 2002-LB7 3500 LS DRW Crew Cab
I Live my life in such a way that when my feet hit the floor in the morning...Satan shudders & says "Oh shit, he's awake!"
Hook'em_Horns! is online now  
post #286 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 03:38 PM
 
Bruce22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8
Garage
Ok guys my mechanic says he can do a 1 time tune. Should I do that or just wait and have all the tunes redone. He should be able to just flash over one of the existing codes correct?

2004.5 LLY Silverado 2500HD 4x4
4Ē RCX lift
18Ē mayhem wheels
35x12.50x18 kendaís
deleted and tuned
Ranch Hand and step bars
Mystery Tuner
Bruce22 is offline  
post #287 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 04:11 PM
DuramaxForum Fanatic
 
D_R_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rocky Top, USA
Posts: 7,196
Do you really feel you need 5 tunes, if so go that route.
I’m only a one tune guy 40hp towtune with turbo brake.
As far as having the 5 position switch, that’s out of my league, but you might have to disconnect the switch wires from the ECM, if your going the one tune route so it doesn’t affect anything.

Getting one tune for free vs paying for a vin license $125 and 5 tunes along with a AutoCal probably $1000 to $1200 + guessing.
Me, I’d go the free way to start out.
You could always go the 5 tune route later on, already having the 5dsp switch, if you want.
Bruce22 likes this.

Dan
2007.5 GMC Sierra 3500 SRW L.B."BLACK" C.C. 4X4 LMM Z71
DIY stock airbox mod, aFe ProGuard 7, OEM drop-in
EFILive ECM ATP - Heavy Tow Tune with Turbo Brake.
EFILive TCM Duramax Tuner
DHD Cold Side High Flow Intake Pipe, DHD PCV Re-Route, AirDog 4G100
Castrol Hypuron/Vecton 15W40 synthetic blend oil
Donaldson P550832 2 qt oil filter

2007 Yukon Denail "BLACK" 6.2 gasser
DIY stock AirBox Mod, K&N, Airaid intake, EFILive TCM only tuning

Last edited by D_R_C; 01-10-2020 at 04:17 PM.
D_R_C is offline  
post #288 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 06:19 PM
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
 
Hook'em_Horns!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Awww-stin, TX
Posts: 25,967
Send a message via Yahoo to Hook'em_Horns! Send a message via Skype™ to Hook'em_Horns!
Quote:
Should I do that or just wait and have all the tunes redone.
Same here, just a single for the Turbo Brake wake up.
Heck, having him flash the stock tuning back is better than running who knows what crap tunes like it is.

You will need to disable that 5 switch.

2007 LBZ 3500 LT3 DRW Crew Cab, Sulastics, Putnam XDR 15K, B&W 30K-Turnover GN+Companion, Ride-Rite Air...EFI'd by Rob
2008 LMM 3500WT DRW Crew Cab, 8 'Flat/GN, Workforce Alum Toolbox, Ride-Rite Air

Use-ta Haves 2006-6.0 3500 WT DRW ExCab Flatbed, 2005-LLY 3500 LS DRW Crew Cab, 2002-LB7 3500 LS DRW Crew Cab
I Live my life in such a way that when my feet hit the floor in the morning...Satan shudders & says "Oh shit, he's awake!"
Hook'em_Horns! is online now  
post #289 of 295 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 07:19 PM
I'm That Guy...
 
TDFDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 16,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce22 View Post
Ok guys my mechanic says he can do a 1 time tune. Should I do that or just wait and have all the tunes redone. He should be able to just flash over one of the existing codes correct?
"my mechanic" doesn't lead me to think he's an experienced tuner. A bad tune can destroy a truck, buy from a reputable tuner and I recommend getting 5 tunes.

Anti Theft was one of my favorites, smaller tune for fuel, tow tune with tow break, race tune for fun, etc....

Tony
Non Vendor contact information, URLs and/or links are NOT allowed in signatures OR on forum!
My opinion is not the opinion of Duramax Forum, Auto Forums, Auto Guide, or other Duramax Forum staff members!

CLICK TO READ: FORUM RULES OR DF STAFF!

17 GMC Sierra CCSB z71 SLE L5P (Work Truck)
Old Trucks: 1 - LB7, 3 - LLY, 1 - LMM
TDFDiesel is offline  
post #290 of 295 (permalink) Old 02-09-2020, 12:18 PM
 
_Deuces2_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Still new here but, I bought an 08 duramax LMM, my truck does have a 4-5 setting round switch under the steering wheel dash. The dealership I bought the truck from is NOOO help on the subject, I was wondering how to figure out if it IS EFI Live, or what. The switch deff goes from stock power on lowest setting, and a huge diff at the higher setting. But there is nothing for me to see, watch, or clear DTC'S from dash. ANY HELP would be much appreciated. Just would like to know what was previously installed from previous owner
_Deuces2_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome