Radio Amp Programming - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Gauges, Electronics and Wiring. A place to discuss electronic / wiring issues and what gauges, audio, video, nav systems, lights, ect. are right for you.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Duramax Lifetime Supporter
 
BlownL36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Jackson,NJ
Posts: 224
Garage
Radio Amp Programming

My old bose amp died and I got a replacement from the junkyard. does it need to be programmed with a tech 2 to work? My radio works, and my rear headphone jacks work so I know the radio is sending audio out to the amp. Radio Amp fuse is good and not blown. Please advise

04.5 CHEVY 2500HD CC/SB LT-Green, 2" Leveling Kit, Bilsteins, Wicked Wheel 2, Boost Stick, 4" MBRP Turbo Back w/ 5" tip, LMM Resonator Box, Airdog LP, PCV reroute, Airbox Mod with AFE Filter, LBZ MP, Fleece Tapshifter, EGR Delete, Edge CTS2, Mishimoto Trans Cooler, EFI Live Tuned/ Idaho Rob,5% tint, 260K and still going strong,
BlownL36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-26-2018, 01:05 PM
J83
DuramaxForum Enthusiast
 
J83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Alaska
Posts: 4,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownL36 View Post
My old bose amp died and I got a replacement from the junkyard. does it need to be programmed with a tech 2 to work? My radio works, and my rear headphone jacks work so I know the radio is sending audio out to the amp. Radio Amp fuse is good and not blown. Please advise
i dont know this for sure, because ive always recommended an aftermarket replacement of the bose amp as they tend to be better, however the bose amp is data turn on, which means it is a part of the data network and could be vin locked like the radio. If its not working and you know it came from a working vehicle then its likely vin locked to the old truck. One thing to note, not EVERY speaker is passed through the amp, your headphone jacks may very well work with the amp disconnected all together.

one thing also to note, if you replace the radio with an aftermarket its very easy to bypass the bose amp, and you will get about the same output power from an aftermarket radio that the bose amp is capable of putting out, and you dont have the wonky factory preset tuning issues. Depending on how much that bose amp cost (since they are pretty spendy from what my customers have told me) it might be cheaper, easier, and more reliable to go with an aftermarket and delete the bose amp.

2015 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD 6.6L LML

Last edited by J83; 11-26-2018 at 01:07 PM.
J83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome