Adding an AUX port - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
How To's, DIY and Write ups DuramaxForum How To's, Do it Yourself Guides, and other write ups. Only How TO post belong in this forum!!! If your NOT showing/telling us HOW TO then DO NOT post it here.

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-23-2019, 08:52 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Adding an AUX port

So, I'm still learning my truck, but one thing I'm missing is a way to simply listen to my music through my phone in the truck. I'm not really sure what to get. I've seen these: https://www.discountcarstereo.com/aux-gm1.html
iSimple ISGM655 Premiuhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B54SJIK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Ymv2DbBW9NCS2

Not really sure what I need exactly. I dont need anything really fancy. I dont want to go digging into the truck just to break something. Any suggestions?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 15745243011516038136233704685355_1574524316008.jpg (30.4 KB, 62 views)

2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD LB7 - 146k miles - My 1st diesel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-23-2019, 09:15 AM
LHN...We ARE the Joneses

Send a message via Yahoo to Hook'em_Horns! Send a message via Skype™ to Hook'em_Horns!
Do you have the XM option?
There's the main dash radio you see, and the XM module is over towards the glove box area and has a large harness that connects on the back of the dash radio.

The iSimple kit Tees into that XM harness, and provides a variety of inputs; RCA, 1/8 mini, full data USB, BT, and a hands free phone setup with aux mic. Steering wheel controls work it all, and when you cycle thru tuner/XM/etc., it appears on the radio as another selection.

However, if you're proficient at soldering, it is possible to tap into the XM harness wires and install your own 1/8 plug, for 'bout $10 total.

Audio, you MUST solder these connections for it to work. You select XM on the dash, and since you don't have a subscription, only channel 1 & 0 will display.