Maricopa Emissions - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Southwest Events AZ - CA - CO - NM - HI - NV - UT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
Duramax Lifetime Supporter

Question Maricopa Emissions

Does anybody have a definitive answer if installing a turbo back exhaust system, i.e. cat + DPF delete, wil cause my truck to fail the emissions test? I'm rather new to the diesel game, Heyyaa , and would really like the benefits of the DPF delete, along with EFI Live in the future, but don't want to have to worry about the dang emissions test. Thanks for your input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 12:54 PM

It depends where you are getting the test done, someone said in another post that a place in scottsdale doesnt even check, and I know when I went to suprise they didnt check my cat. I had a turbo back but had a magna flow 4" hi flo cat put in by a muffler shop on Bell east of the 101. The test they use is smoke, but it's anyones guess if they will check it. You could take the test and see if they spot it. If you fail just have a cat installed.

2007 GMC Sierra SLT-LBZ- 5" MBRP Turbo back
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 02:54 PM
DF Sponsors

I would definitely keep your stock exhaust as a spare just in case they do happen to look and spot it missing you wont have to buy a new stock system. Its really a gamble, It all depends on who is working at what station. I dont have any emissions, yet in surprise and glendale ive been harrassed about how I dont have a cat and I have an egr delete when It never had it to begin with lol. I wouldnt worry about getting an exhaust, but you better be prepared to put it back on if you do fail a test though.

Tyson
Arizona Diesel Club- click here
2003 CCSB LB7 EFI-Airdog-Traction bars

Parts/Service- [email protected]

ARP - Cognito - EFI Live - Edge - FLO~PRO - ISSPRO & many many more!
www.CHDIESEL.com
Sponsored Links