LBZ using drop shackles with airbags - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
Suspension&Steering Discuss what Mods for the suspension & steering are right for you.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By pigpen23

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2019, 09:54 AM Thread Starter

LBZ using drop shackles with airbags

Hello all,

I installed Airlift bags on my LBZ some time ago to address the squat issues while pulling my toyhauler. I am pleased with them. They did accomplish what I was hoping for.

However, unloaded with the bags at 5psi the rear of the truck really sits up high. I prefer the truck to sit level front to rear. Is it possible to do lowering shackles while utilizing airbags? I figured I could trim out the loaded / hitch weight with the bags. Seems like if you drop the rear of the leaf spring it would compress / crush the bags.

I have zero knowledge about lowering shackles but I do wonder how they hold up under the load of a trailer when towing (Im at roughly 18K GCVW towing). Of course, GM engineered the pickup for pulling. Do the shackles throw a wrench in things from a engineering standpoint?

https://www.amazon.com/McGaughys-Low.../dp/B00B0Z29J4

06 2500HD CCSB 4wd LBZ | Fleece Trans cooler lines |Edge Evolution CTS2 w/ EGT probe| Bilstein 5100s|Michelin Defender LTX M/S LRE| "OEM" Turbo Brake | Airlift # 88275 airbags
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2019, 11:52 AM
DuramaxForum Veteran

I've read numerous stories where people have used lowering shackles with airbags. I'm convinced it will work and am planning on ordering bags shortly here before snowmobile season begins.
Noble_dmax likes this.

Casey
2016 Denali 3500HD - Starting from scratch.
Drop shackles. 285/75R18 RTs on Factory Wheels.

2018 Silverado 2500HD - Sold
2015 Silverado 2500HD - Sold
2012 Silverado 2500HD - Sold
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2019, 06:51 PM

Garage