Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

So I'm a Duramax newbie with all this so y'all bear with me please. It has 175K on it.

I read a few threads concerning priming and air in the fuel lines, but I need a bit more understanding. I had an '88 F250 International and most of its issues were fuel related (Either no fuel or no air, or air in fuel, diesels are pretty basic). Anyway that was a much older engine than today's technology.

So went out to my truck to take the wife to dinner last nite. Noticed the dash lights were dim but was able to get her fired up for about 2 seconds (engine not the wife!) Then it died. Tried starting again and no go. Threw a charger on the batteries and went to dinner. BTW, batteries are Bosch and only 10 months old. Came back two hours later, starter was much happier but it still would not fire up.

To me I have two issues: 1) Find what is draining the batteries, 2) find why the engine isn't getting fuel??

The truck had a new filter ass'y installed last year. I understand it has a small fuel lift motor. Where do I start? Am I on the right track?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
7,376 Posts
Your on the right track alright. Remove the black screw in the top of the filter head. Then pump the primer bulb on top. (The BIG round metal button) If fuel does not come out on the first pump or two then you do have air in the lines. Pump the primer till fuel comes out then install the black plug again. Then prime until it gets hard. Try to start. Then repeat the process of priming till it gets hard again and start. If you have a liftpump that is not a "flow through" design and it has failed then it will block the fuel from flowing to the motor.

·
IB4X4N
122 Posts