Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at getting the socal 14mm head studs and wondering if the drilling and tapping is something safe i could do myself? Im not a novice in engines and know a fair amount. Just need a yay or nay and some tips to doing it. Motor is sitting in the truck so i would have to use a magnetized drill bit obviously and be careful. Heads are not on motor. I do not want arp studs unless i absolutely have to. Just dont like them and knowing there is something better thats what im after. Thanks!

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I do not like arps. And seeing as socals are half the price and stronger, i prefer that route. That and im going for some wicked hp

·
Registered
434 Posts
What happen with you and arp. I've used there bolts in everything and never had issues.

·
BANNED
789 Posts
Why dont you like ARPs???

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ive broken lots of arps. And have broken stronger stuff too

·
AKA treyfox11
2,250 Posts
dude you obviously do not understand what it taked to put 14mm studs in the block lmao good luck , your gonna need it . by the way who you think makes those 14mm studs ??? socal ???? do some research

·
AKA treyfox11
2,250 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I didnt ask for a bunch of bs. I asked an honest question for an honest answer! Its not your effing motor or time is it? I know what i want for my use and taste. All you had to do was give me simple its a pain in the a** or its not too bad, heres some tips or whatever. Not criticism bs. I dont criticize the way any of you have your motors and tell you how to do it do i? I will offer respectful insight at any time asked, but never criticize. I want my stuff my way because i know how i am and how abusive i can be to an engine.

·
AKA treyfox11
2,250 Posts