Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys, im new to the forum but not new to diesels.. im on my second duramax, the EX aka satan made off with my 06 lbz
and you live and you learn.. right? anyway im a welder that has always had chevy diesels, i have two of my older rigs that are running off the old 6.5 gutless coal burners and i just scooped up this 02 DMAX 5 spd. Allison combo..
all in all i think shes a good fit especially for the price.. shes got 175,000 on her 4 wheel drive, manual transfer case and a service bed, set me back 8,500..
she runs great and goes down the road great.. it seems as though at idle she is a little ripe, im thinking its time for injectors, so being that this is a daily driver/welding rig i want to spruce her up a little without compromising integrity.. im sending it in to get the trans flushed and filters monday.. ive been reading about these five sppeds and it seems like they do not like a ton of power put on em.. but like i said im not gonna be racing with it i just want it to be solid and hold up well with mild gains.. my 06 had an s and b air intake 5" exhaust and a ppe standard programmer, imo it ran good... so i was just looking for some thoughts on how to address this 5 speed and what i can do so she stays happy...

·
Registered
852 Posts
Don't flush the Allison, no bueno. Buy four gallons of Dex 3 or better yet TES-295 rated fluid and drain tranny at drain plug. Replace plug and refill with a little less than two gallons (checking level with dipstick). Drive around for a day or a week or a month and repeat. This time also replace the spin-on filter at bottom of tranny and don't forget to use the donut magnet off the old filter.

Simple as that, don't overthink it.

·
Registered
852 Posts

·
Registered
2,051 Posts