Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im looking to purchase either a 2010 or a 2011 chevy 2500hd with the duramax. what are the PROS and CONS of both year trucks? this will be my first deisel...thanks

·
Registered
7,861 Posts
Welcome to the DF! It would all depend on what you are looking to do with it

Sent from my DROIDX

·
Premium Member
924 Posts
2010, no urea

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm going to be towing a 10,000 pound trailer and the truck will be a daily driver. I heard that the 2011 has issues with some additive that the truck needs . Like I said, I'm new to diesels so I have no idea about the motor or the details of it

·
Registered
772 Posts
Well the 2011 would be better for towing. And there is no efi live... right now

·
Registered
263 Posts
its mostly the best programmer out there for a duramax truck, it can pretty much do anything you tell it to do.

·
Registered
772 Posts
What is EFI live? Sorry but I'm totally new to the duramaxx and to diesels.
yeah its totally okay! its custom tuning for the duramac and cummins engines, you can basically do whatever you want as far tuning goes and it is amazing. i highly recommend talking and getting your stuff from Idaho Rob at ATPtrucks.com :D

·
Registered
2,500 Posts
2010 does not have the Urea tank, and the wheel bolt pattern is the same as all previous years so more/cheaper wheel options if you want to remove the stock. You can get EFI live tuning done to it.

2011 has new bolt pattern for the wheels, cannot get EFI at this time, has Urea tank. Can get H&S tuning, higher HP/TQ factory tuning, it's 1 year newer.

That's what I'm thinking off the top of my head.

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
The brakes on the 2011's will blow your mind. If you want to stop buy a 2011.....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #13