Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there! I searched around a little, but couldn't find a definitive answer.

I currently have a 2003 Suburban Z71 with the 5.3l, I am planning on adding a 2004.5-2005 used Silverado 2500HD crewcab to my fleet.

I have a few questions regarding the engine options in that year, and I am looking for some real world advice and numbers.

I am debating between the 6.0 and the 6.6 diesel.

I would like to know what you guys are getting as far a fuel economy in these trucks when unloaded and stock? I don't want to hear all the duramax guys telling me how their mods helped, I want some stock highway/city numbers.

I am also new to diesel, so I am cautious of how much more general maintenance and repair costs will be for the diesel over the gasoline engines. What are some typical numbers for routine maintenance of these two engines? What kind of milage can I get from these before more major maintenance is needed? When do I need to replace injectors in the duramax?

What are the know problems with the 6.0 and 6.6? I am only looking at the LLY diesel.

For these trucks, what would you consider a good milage to buy. I am looking to spend around $19,000. I understand the diesel will be higher then the gas, but what would be a good milage for that price point considering I am getting a well loaded truck. (LT)

Thanks for all the help. I look forward to using the site.
Brennan

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
Lly doesn't really have to many problems just a few upgrades ( turbo mouthpiece) to get better mileage, they don't have the injector problem like the older ones... An swapping a injector is simple from what I hear... 6.0 powerstroke?? Have you not heard of the head gasket and turbo problems? My uncle had a 6.0 and he had it at the dealer every other month for gaskets... And that is no easy job

·
Registered
398 Posts