Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

3.5in rough country lift

9K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  wyman1jt 
#1 ·
So I just got my 3.5in rough country lift installed on my 2012 Chevy 2500HD. I know this is a cheap lift and isn’t the best ride quality but my question is how can I make it a little bit smoother? Some people say they love the lift and it rides so good and mine just isn’t that it’s extremely rough on bumps and really bouncy almost to the point where I don’t want to drive it. Does it need time to break in or could I have done something wrong? I’m new to the truck scene any help would be appreciated.

#2 ·
3.5" of "lift" this kit claims with the parts that are offered will do nothing but make you feel like you're riding a mule. Unfortunately that's just part of sticking to the cheaper option of "lifting" the truck that is basically a glorified leveling kit. Your best bet for what you have now is to remove the rear blocks the kit came with and lower the front end by backing out the bolt on the keys. That's about as good as you're going to get besides maybe front diff spacers that prolly wont make too much of a difference. If you're concerned about ride quality your best bet is to either use a drop shackle in the rear to level and keep the front end as close to stock as possible or buy a true 4-6" lift kit and de-crank it and don't use the rear blocks if you want the height of the rough country kit. What tire size/wheel offset are you running?

#3 ·
Totally understand that it’s a cheap way to lift the truck but I’ve had trucks just leveled on some bigger blocks and rode wayyy smoother than this. If I got better shock absorbers would that help? And I have 20in fuel Mavericks with 35’s 12in wide

#8 ·