Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm still learning my truck, but one thing I'm missing is a way to simply listen to my music through my phone in the truck. I'm not really sure what to get. I've seen these: https://www.discountcarstereo.com/aux-gm1.html
iSimple ISGM655 Premiuhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B54SJIK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Ymv2DbBW9NCS2

Not really sure what I need exactly. I dont need anything really fancy. I dont want to go digging into the truck just to break something. Any suggestions?

Attachments

LHN...We ARE the Joneses
Do you have the XM option?
There's the main dash radio you see, and the XM module is over towards the glove box area and has a large harness that connects on the back of the dash radio.

The iSimple kit Tees into that XM harness, and provides a variety of inputs; RCA, 1/8 mini, full data USB, BT, and a hands free phone setup with aux mic. Steering wheel controls work it all, and when you cycle thru tuner/XM/etc., it appears on the radio as another selection.

However, if you're proficient at soldering, it is possible to tap into the XM harness wires and install your own 1/8 plug, for 'bout $10 total.

Audio, you MUST solder these connections for it to work. You select XM on the dash, and since you don't have a subscription, only channel 1 & 0 will display.
Ch 1 is a continuous audio ad for their service, while Ch 0 displays radio ID with no audio track.

This^ (Ch 0) is what you want to tune to for your own aux input signal. It will work on Ch 1, but you'll have the bleed over ad audio, while Ch 0 is silent, just you.

Reactions: jdwarren

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
Do you have the XM option?
There's the main dash radio you see, and the XM module is over towards the glove box area and has a large harness that connects on the back of the dash radio.