Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been seeing some ads for this Suncoast Allison A1000 5 speed to 6 speed conversion kit while researching drivetrain mods. Has anyone heard of someone who's done this and can speak to its integrity? I'm really interested to learn more about how this works and if it's a worthwhile investment. Apparently it is virtually plug n play besides TCM and valve body changes.

I'd be interested in this if I could determine it doesn't compromise any of Allison's superior awesomeness. Or anything else for that matter.

https://www.thoroughbreddiesel.com/2004-gmc-sierra-2500/a1-6vb-tcm-lb7/

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have no first hand knowledge, but I thought it sounded like a great idea years ago when it came out. It might be nice in some situations, like going 80 mph unloaded. If towing, you're not going to use 6th (and sometimes not even 5th) anyway. I can't remember anything in particular, but I'm under the impression that you don't get much of a boost in mpg.

But if you go 80 a lot and you don't like the high revs, it might be something to consider.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
Duramax tuner has had their conversion kit out for atleast a year or two and I haven’t heard anything negative about it (besides the cost in my opinion). Really want to do it to my truck but just cant justify the almost 2k price tag. Installation looks simple enough

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
760 Posts
I know duramaxtuner does some stuff with the 5 to 6 speed conversion. I'd give them a call. Once you add some power to that Allison it is far from superior awesomeness i can assure ya of that.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5