Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
here it is.
bought the truck with efi on it. it was just a dpf delete tune.
couple years ago sprung for new tunes from local guy. also got the v2.
now the question is, how good are they. and how do I find out?

I've been running them for a couple years, no major issues really. my highway mpg is about 19-20. in town is only 14 or so. towing the 5ver is about 10. the towing mpg may be able to be improved I think,

it also seems to rattle slightly under load at low rpm, more than it used to.

so how do I go about finding someone to check out these tunes? log it and send them a log file? will they be able to find a fault in the current tune? will they be willing to adjust someone elses tune?

I know I could just go ahead and spend 250 for new tunes from rob or cory, but was just curious if I could do this a bit cheaper, since I have probably decent tunes now that maybe a slight tweak would improve.

im willing to spend some money on this, just hoping not to have to pop for the full 250. is there a re-tune fee or something?

feel free to let me know if i'm way out in left field here, any insight would be appreciated. thanks.

·
Registered
4,421 Posts
You probably could get Kory or Rob to look at some logs but theyll probably just want to sell you a set of there tunes. Who knows what kind of mess you have set up for you now. Itd probably cost the same to have them fix the tunes as just buying a set of there tunes...

·
HERE SO I DONT GET FINED
2,860 Posts
Does your tow tune have a built in turbo brake? If not, ditch your tunes & get Rob's or Kory's. Tow tune alone would be worth the money IMO.

·
Registered
965 Posts
It might be worth it just for peace of mind.

·
HERE SO I DONT GET FINED
2,860 Posts
How high do your EGT's get? Towing & WOT?

·
Premium Member