Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I would comment on what it took to put in the Banks speedbrake/IQ, which is probably similar to Banks tuners, installation wise. In case anybody else is thinking about it, maybe my comments will save somebody time.

I am a weekend mechanic, but can follow instructions pretty well. From start to finish, it took me about 5 hours total. I didn't expect it would take that long, but a lot of time was needed for head scratching.

1) It took me awhile to get the tranny connector out, because its wedged back in a little area. To get the connector out, one has to squeeze the flats on the connector, but my hand just wouldn't fit on one side. It was just too narrow in there. So I levered a long screw driver on the tight side, and my hand on the other. It came off right away when I did that.
2) Figuring out how to get the main engine electrical connectors apart took me awhile, and I still think there has to be an easier way. They have locks on them that snap in place, but they were hard to get unsnapped. There is probably a trick that I don't know about.
3) You have to run a cable through the main firewall, and through a rubber grommet. Banks says cut a 1 inch X on each side and put the wire through. The grommet is fairly thick, and was hard to cut, especially on the cab inside where you don't have much access. I finally fished a puller wire through first, and then pulled the cable through my cut X slits.
4) Taking off the front dash, kicker panel was easy for me, because I'd done it before.

After that, it was pretty easy.
Make sure you have a few extra ties, as Banks seems to be kinda stingy on these. At first glance, it seemed like I had plenty, but more were needed IMO.

·
Registered
194 Posts
So hows the reviews on how well it works? Ya shoulda taken a few pic and done a how to on the install.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #3