Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've protected my truck with the usual but I'd like to go further towards cooling my oil.

What has worked the best for other members? Some actual data would be nice.

I'm no diesel expert and I've made many mistakes with this truck but I keep it as clean internally as possible and I'd like to do the same for temperature.

Attachments

·
Ask one to be one
5,660 Posts
Well an oil cooler works best and your truck already has one.

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oil temps on these trucks routinely, in TEXAS, reach levels I'm not comfortable with. Breaks the oil downs and waalaa engine life decreased.
There has to be more I can do but its over my head.

·
Registered
1,370 Posts
You can add a aux oil cooler

·
Ask one to be one
5,660 Posts
What oil temp are you seeing? Do you have a gauge or are you just going off what someone told you?

·
Premium Member
26,484 Posts
Between traffic and heat here, our oil does get worked to the extreme.

Take the guess out, you can easily/cheaply add an oil temp sensor/gauge at the filter head, as ECTs aren't the best source of true heat levels.
Run a better syn oil that won't thin out and plummet oil pressure at higher temps, Get off of it when it spikes and wait for the OEM cooler to catch up, run oil analysis to be assured it's keeping up with lubricity.

Or try and piece together an Aux oil cooler, capable of handling the high flow volume needed. Just under $1k, plus fab/machining.

A reasonably priced all-in-one kit would really sell well.....:farmer

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·