Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been running the Bilsteins since 2017, which is only about 15k miles for me on this truck, and have not been extremely happy with them. They are definitely a high quality shock, however they offer nowhere near the dampening they should for a diesel motor. I notice considerable rebound at freeway speeds, causing the truck to ride like an old Cadillac. Going from reasonable condition stock shocks these, they are noticeable softer up front and stiffer in the rear, which is the opposite of what this truck requires for highway driving (in the front any way).

I contacted Bilstein, where to my surprise a real person answered and transferred me to an honest to god engineer. It was one of the best customer experiences I've ever had. That engineer did confirmed that the shock is the stiffest one they offer for the truck in a 5100, he also confirmed that it's the same valving on everything from a 1500hd gas truck to a 3500hd cclb duramax. The weight difference between these vehicles is tremendous and calls for different valving.

Long story short, my tires are being torn apart because I don't drive calmly. Does anyone have a recommendation for a stiffer shock up front? Any experience with Bilstein, Fox, or Rancho and possibly the differences between them? Should I just go back to stock with a shock spacer? Fairly stock truck CCSB, raised up 3/4" in the front when I bought it which probably just put it back to stock. 33" Ridge Grappler tires with mild fender trimming.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
82 Posts