Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any thing wrong with pluging it in all nite or for days at a time if not driving much? Not freezeing yet but was after faster warm ups. its getting in the 30s and low 40s at nite. And when should should I start useing gell protection.Thanks Guys PS damm I like this D max why did I wait so long :cookoo[1]:

·
Its just a worktruck
13,908 Posts
I never plug mine in. That thing scares the crap out of me. Why they put a little appliance plug on something that draws 10+ amps is a mystery to me. I've never had a problem starting, even in negative temps.

·
Registered
944 Posts
The way I understand the fuel treatment is that it is treated appropriately for your area as the weather changes so if you fill up regularly it shouldn't be a problem. As long as you don't fill a huge tank in the deep south and head straight north in the late fall it shouldn't be a problem. I am new at this, am I right or wrong?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sounds good to me , But this Idaho , as they say wecome to Idaho set youe clock back 25yrs lol . Any body in Id. out What are you guys doing , useing? tahnks

·
Administrator
8,818 Posts
Plugging in will only kill your electric bill. I don't plug in unless it is around zero.

As far as the anti-gel, just use a good fuel additive. I use stanadyne in nearly every tank year round. The additive you use is all personal preference though. There are some decent ones out there.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I used a timer on my Ford for many years to avoid heating the thing all night, it worked out pretty well. I only would plug it in if temps were in the single digits and below.

·
Oh...... Squirrel!
24,083 Posts

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
ive left mine plugged in for weeks at a time.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #9