Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mods, sorry if this is the wrong section.

I'm getting ready to change the wheel bearings out on my boat trailer. It's got 2 3,500lb axles, with electric brakes. Just curious if anyone has any tips or tricks to this. Obviously, it's my first time doing them.

I've watched several YouTube videos. None of those seem to involve a trailer with brakes. Just curious if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
465 Posts
The hubs are held on to the axle the same whether it has brakes or not. Depending how worn your drums & brakes are & if your adjuster is seized or not, will determine how easy the drum comes off.
Clean up brgs, check for pitting or wear marks on races & brgs replace as needed.
Check brakes, magnets & drums replace as needed. You can usually replace the brakes with backing plates & magnets as a complete unit for a decent price. If drums are worn replace or machine.

·
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
26,485 Posts
You'll also need new inner seals....they don't usually survive being pulled to access the large inner bearing.

Don't usually see E-brakes on a submerged boat trailer axle. Usually they're surge brakes.

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You are correct, hook. They are surge brakes. I was mistaken.

Thanks for the advice, everyone. Keep it coming

·
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
26,485 Posts
After you remove the spindle nut, grasp the hub/drum and pull it back a bit, unseating the small outer bearing.
I then use a long oversized screw driver, blade against the spindle end, then ease the drum back and the outer bearing and large washer slide off onto the screwdriver, instead of falling to the ground and making a grease mess.

I posted a DIY thread years ago for a trailer service, but I just looked and the pic host dropped all of the pic links.
Worthless....hate the pic host industry.

·
Registered
1,177 Posts